We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! Great location, lovely spacious rooms, top notch breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent just a night at Griff House and would definitely recommend to anyone and will absolutely be returning for a longer stay. The rooms are fresh, clean and spacious and the beds/pillows are very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was great but the real prize for me was Kathryn's Homemade Granola. Absolutely delicious, in fact I may return just to have another bowl of that!!! Martin and Kathryn were both very friendly and welcoming, perfect hosts. The showers were great and there was a little fridge in the rooms with fresh milk for hot drinks (there are of course hot drink making facilities in the rooms with a nice selection to choose from). The location is nice and quiet and just a few minutes walk from the centre. You should probably definitely stay here :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello Gina,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future, so you can try some more granola!
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at Griff House for a long weekend, using the B&B as a base for a bit of cycling in the Peak District combined with visiting my in-laws in Derbyshire.

The room and communal areas were spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. There were lots of nice little touches in the room like a fridge with real milk for tea and coffee, a sewing kit, clock radio with iPod dock, etc.

The owners, Martin and Kathryn, were friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations for pubs and restaurants in Buxton and were very accomodating about storing the bikes.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, with plenty of choice. Martin's porridge was excellent fuel for a hard day in the saddle!

A great place to stay to explore Derbyshire and the Peaks. I have no hesitation in recommending Griff House and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello Stuart,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Buxton is a great base for cycling, with many great road and mountain biking routes.

Buxton also has plenty of good pubs and restaurants, all within a 10 stroll from Griff House, so there is no shortage of dining options from the basic to something more special. Similarly there are pubs for all tastes and a vibrant local music scene.

We look forward to seeing you again before long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a great B&B.
Very well appointed rooms.
Very friendly service.
Great price.
All a short walk from the town centre.
What more could you ask for? I'd like to put something they could do to improve but I can't come up with a thing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello John,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stays. You stayed on a room only basis each time as you were working in town, so we were happy to give you a discounted rate.

We hope to see you again before long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely B&B as a base for exploring the area. In a quiet residential area just a few minutes walk from Buxton town centre. We had room 1 which was light, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The shower room is quite small but again spotlessly clean and equipped with everything needed.It was also very nice to have large fluffy white bath towels instead of the usual 'postage stamps' you get in many hotels! The bedlinen was also of good quality. Good breakfast, freshly cooked for you. Martin and Kathryn were pleasant, friendly hosts. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and amongst other things, liked our new towels!

We look forward to seeing you again before long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for three nights over the August bank holiday weekend. Kathryn was a lovely host...the breakfasts were delicious and she was at hand to provide us with any info we needed. I have never tried granola before but after reading the other reviews, I tried it and it was simply delicious.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and we were provided with 2 bottles of Buxton water each day. We stayed in Room 7 on the 2nd floor. The only issue we had was with the shower as the water didn't drain quickly but this was minor.

Location is perfect, about 2 min walk from Buxton town centre, 2 min drive from GoApe and Poole's Cavern, 20 min drive to Bakewell.

We managed to go on two beautiful walks whilst we were here - just wish we had longer.

Can't wait to plan my next trip here!

Room Tip: Room 7 at the top is cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKothary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the shower issue, we were glad to be able to resolve it while you were here.

Nice to have another 'recommend' for Kathryn's granola, it really is scrummy!

We hope to welcome you and your husband back to Griff House before too long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This guest house is an ideal place to relax. Perfect quiet location with fresh air and magnificent views from the windows, close to the centre and the park.The rooms are spacy, the bathrooms are newly renovated with nice showers. Everything is spotlessly clean. Daily breakfast is really delicious! Fresh milk, farmers' eggs and self-made marmelade and granola! And most importantly - the hotel is run by really friendly and helpful people. I've stayed in Griff House twice and hope to come again. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larysa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Larysa,

Thank you for leaving your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Griff House.

We hope to see you again before too long!
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful guest house and is exactly what a guest house experience should be like. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The house is immaculate and our room was very comfortable. I loved the little extras that show they've gone that bit extra to ensure you have a good stay. Our room had a little proper fridge - with fresh milk! And it's worth saying here for the towels, they are very luxurious, and the shower is a decent shower, just what you need after a hard day's walking. It was beautifully quiet (except for someone checking out and leaving their alarm on, grr!) and the breakfast is excellent - a wide range of items and a delicious home cooked breakfast, exactly what you need before a hard day's walking.

The guest house location is perfect; a couple of minutes walk to the high street, and a little more to the beautiful gardens and pavilion. The guest house is walkable to Poole's cavern, which is near the start of a walk up to Solomon's temple. Martin recommended a few places to eat and drink and also helped us find some walks. We also borrowed a couple of the walking books from the guest house during our stay, and did the two tors walk on the Sunday.

I've already recommend this guest house to friends and would certainly stop here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Lisa,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The towels are a recent addition, we think they are fantastic! From BC Software's Sumptuous range, they are simply the nicest we could find and the bath sheets are huge and enveloping - we are glad you liked them. The showers are also blessed with good water pressure and our new plumbing system ensures an immediate and endless supply of hot water - ideal for you walkers.

We hope to see you again one day
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,936 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
184 reviews
13.8 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £61 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing