We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
376
22
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
22
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolab bjug of fresh milksilent fridgepeak districtrecommend placesbreakfast was deliciouscheshire cheesea quiet residential areacomfortable bedthe perfect hosthomemade jamssmall fridgelovely toiletriesappointed roomsguest loungea great stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose to stay at Griff House for a long weekend over the August Bank holiday while attending a friends wedding. The guest house had excellent ratings on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. It has an excellent location and has recently been totally refurbished. The rooms we stayed in were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and they were more than happy to accommodate a two month year old baby. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We note you awarded us 4/5 for value. You paid £75 per room per night for two double rooms over the August Bank Holiday weekend which we believe compares favourably with similar quality 4* B&Bs in Buxton and is £5-£10 per night cheaper than some.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent just a night at Griff House and would definitely recommend to anyone and will absolutely be returning for a longer stay. The rooms are fresh, clean and spacious and the beds/pillows are very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was great but the real prize for me was Kathryn's Homemade Granola. Absolutely delicious, in fact I may return just to have another bowl of that!!! Martin and Kathryn were both very friendly and welcoming, perfect hosts. The showers were great and there was a little fridge in the rooms with fresh milk for hot drinks (there are of course hot drink making facilities in the rooms with a nice selection to choose from). The location is nice and quiet and just a few minutes walk from the centre. You should probably definitely stay here :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello Gina,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future, so you can try some more granola!
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at Griff House for a long weekend, using the B&B as a base for a bit of cycling in the Peak District combined with visiting my in-laws in Derbyshire.

The room and communal areas were spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. There were lots of nice little touches in the room like a fridge with real milk for tea and coffee, a sewing kit, clock radio with iPod dock, etc.

The owners, Martin and Kathryn, were friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations for pubs and restaurants in Buxton and were very accomodating about storing the bikes.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, with plenty of choice. Martin's porridge was excellent fuel for a hard day in the saddle!

A great place to stay to explore Derbyshire and the Peaks. I have no hesitation in recommending Griff House and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello Stuart,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Buxton is a great base for cycling, with many great road and mountain biking routes.

Buxton also has plenty of good pubs and restaurants, all within a 10 stroll from Griff House, so there is no shortage of dining options from the basic to something more special. Similarly there are pubs for all tastes and a vibrant local music scene.

We look forward to seeing you again before long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a great B&B.
Very well appointed rooms.
Very friendly service.
Great price.
All a short walk from the town centre.
What more could you ask for? I'd like to put something they could do to improve but I can't come up with a thing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello John,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent stays. You stayed on a room only basis each time as you were working in town, so we were happy to give you a discounted rate.

We hope to see you again before long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely B&B as a base for exploring the area. In a quiet residential area just a few minutes walk from Buxton town centre. We had room 1 which was light, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The shower room is quite small but again spotlessly clean and equipped with everything needed.It was also very nice to have large fluffy white bath towels instead of the usual 'postage stamps' you get in many hotels! The bedlinen was also of good quality. Good breakfast, freshly cooked for you. Martin and Kathryn were pleasant, friendly hosts. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and amongst other things, liked our new towels!

We look forward to seeing you again before long
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews