We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John and Judy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“John and Judy”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Never having visited the Derbyshire Dales I checked with Trip Advisor to find somewhere for my wife and I to stay during our mini break. Griff House certainly fitted the bill.Ideally situated, the B and B was just a short walk to the centre of town and close to all restaurants.Our room was perfect with everything we needed,and the bed was really comfortable.The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the rest of the day.Martin was very helpful and attentive.I have no hesitation in recommending Griff House to any of our friends who visit Buxton.Well done to Martin and Kathryn.!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniorpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello John,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be comfortable and to your liking. It's lovely to receive such kind words as feedback :-)

We hope to see you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
196
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

we travelled as 2 couples, the weekend of 13th September, I had been looking on the reviews for weeks. None of the group were disappointed with our stay the breakfast was a good start to the day, the rooms were clean warm and spacious. Martin helped us out with wine and brandy glasses so we could have pre dinner drinks it was a very nice weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody wanting a special weekend in Buxton.

Room Tip: we had room 4 but I am sure any of the rooms would be of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be warm, comfortable and to your liking. Guests are always welcome to use the lounge, it's nice as a meeting place when groups stay and we often supply glasses for a civilised sip or two before or after dinner!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Griff House and what a pleasant stay we had! We were made to feel very welcome by the owners. The rooms are clean, warm and decorated to a high standard. We had everything we needed in the room, access to wifi, kettle, mini fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board available on request and loads of little extras like sewing kit, shoe shine and corkscrew. Breakfast was lovely with cereals, fruit, full English and vegetarian option. I enjoyed the homemade granola!

Location
Excellent location! We were given lots of ideas and directions by the owners, so helpful. Griff House is close to restaurants and shops. Also within easy reach of attractions such as the Monsal trail, you can pick this up at Wyedale car park which is near Buxton only a 10-15 minute drive. Only approximately a 20 minute drive from Castleton where you can experience the peak cavern and steepwell cavern. Would highly recommend Griff house. Good value, lovely owners, clean rooms and nice breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyg2gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and liked all the little extras we provide for the rooms. The Peak District is full of lovely places to explore, we are glad you found Griff House to be a suitable base for your sightseeing.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose Griff House because of its rating on Tripadvisor and we certainly weren’t disappointed. The house has been extensively refurbished to a high standard and even the sash windows had been replaced in a sympathetic style. The house is a large Victorian house and the rooms are very spacious with high ceilings and had very good solid furniture. There were ample tea making facilities and nice wall mounted TV and a lovely comfy bed. We were in room 4 and had no complaints whatsoever.

There were all of the normal tea making facilities, hairdryers and local information. The breakfasts and choice were what you would expect of a high class B&B. I liked the idea of reusing the napkin to be greener.

There is ample street parking and it is lovely and quiet despite being a minute’s walk from the High Street and about 10 minutes walk away from a delightful park that had been restored to its former Victorian splendour.

If you want a good base for the Peak District within easy driving distance of many National Trust properties, you could do much worse than Buxton and Griff House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandCathy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello Ian and Cathy,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be comfortable and to your liking.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose to stay at Griff House for a long weekend over the August Bank holiday while attending a friends wedding. The guest house had excellent ratings on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. It has an excellent location and has recently been totally refurbished. The rooms we stayed in were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and they were more than happy to accommodate a two month year old baby. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We note you awarded us 4/5 for value. You paid £75 per room per night for two double rooms over the August Bank Holiday weekend which we believe compares favourably with similar quality 4* B&Bs in Buxton and is £5-£10 per night cheaper than some.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent just a night at Griff House and would definitely recommend to anyone and will absolutely be returning for a longer stay. The rooms are fresh, clean and spacious and the beds/pillows are very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was great but the real prize for me was Kathryn's Homemade Granola. Absolutely delicious, in fact I may return just to have another bowl of that!!! Martin and Kathryn were both very friendly and welcoming, perfect hosts. The showers were great and there was a little fridge in the rooms with fresh milk for hot drinks (there are of course hot drink making facilities in the rooms with a nice selection to choose from). The location is nice and quiet and just a few minutes walk from the centre. You should probably definitely stay here :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georginarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Gina,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the future, so you can try some more granola!
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at Griff House for a long weekend, using the B&B as a base for a bit of cycling in the Peak District combined with visiting my in-laws in Derbyshire.

The room and communal areas were spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. There were lots of nice little touches in the room like a fridge with real milk for tea and coffee, a sewing kit, clock radio with iPod dock, etc.

The owners, Martin and Kathryn, were friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations for pubs and restaurants in Buxton and were very accomodating about storing the bikes.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, with plenty of choice. Martin's porridge was excellent fuel for a hard day in the saddle!

A great place to stay to explore Derbyshire and the Peaks. I have no hesitation in recommending Griff House and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Stuart,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Buxton is a great base for cycling, with many great road and mountain biking routes.

Buxton also has plenty of good pubs and restaurants, all within a 10 stroll from Griff House, so there is no shortage of dining options from the basic to something more special. Similarly there are pubs for all tastes and a vibrant local music scene.

We look forward to seeing you again before long
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing