We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely from start to finish”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Myself and my husband enjoyed a highly anticipated child free two night stay recently and found Griff house to be a perfect retreat. A few hundred yards from the centre of Buxton, Griff house is in an ideal residential area and although we stayed in a room facing the road with the window ajar all night we were not disturbed by any outside noise. We were in room 4 which was lovely and spacious, nicely refurbished, clean and with complimentary toiletries and the fridge in the room was a bonus with the owners topping up the refreshments while we were out, including fresh milk!! The TV in the room was a decent size and the guest lounge had a selection of films available for guests to borrow if the weather was against you, which it was for us one afternoon. We mentioned that we were staying at Griff House when booking our theatre tickets one night and were given a 50% discount, as a bonus to staying in a local B&B. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Kathryn but Martin was lovely and very helpful, he produced an excellent cooked breakfast with locally sourced produce each morning. We had a lovely time and were made to feel very welcome, we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House to be comfortable. Your room (4) is at the front of the house, facing out onto Compton Road, a quiet side road.

You certainly did get a bargain with your tickets for Buxton Opera House. It's always worth letting the local attractions know that you are staying overnight in town, especially when booking in person, as they will often offer a discount.

We hope to see you again before long.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
195
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
telford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for the weekend of 11th October - 13th October 2013 - The house from the outside looks beautiful and on the inside too. Even though the rooms have TV’s there is still a TV lounge with a couple of sofa's to relax on. There are also books, DVD’s and games for your use during your stay.

Our bedroom was right up at the top of the building, some steep stairs to climb, the manager did offer to help us with our bags as well. The room was lovely and big with plenty of storage space. There is a lovely large sash window with a view of the street and the bottom of the High Street. Out bed was two singles zipped together and was the most comfortable bed I have slept in at a hotel for ages, both my husband and myself had lovely night’s sleep here.

The bathroom was a simple room with a sink, toilet, and bath with a shower over it; perfect meeting both our needs as we both love a bath, but also appreciate the convenience of a shower. It had a lovely mirrored cabinet with a light around it, inside the cabinet there was cotton wool and cotton buds in a container for your use, also nail files in a pack should you need them. Soap and body lotion in dispensers on the sink, also shampoo and shower gel in bottles on the side of the bath.

In a draw you will find a hair dryer for use, also a decorative jar with cottons, needles etc that you may need during your stay. There is a TV with DVD player attached; you can borrow DVD’s from downstairs. I was really pleased with the variety of teas on offer, which included green tea, lemon tea, earl grey and fruit teas as well as your standard tea; hubby was pleased with the coffee they used as well as he enjoys a good strong cup of coffee. Milk was in a jug inside the fridge that they also provided. I drink a lot of water so I was really pleased that they left two bottles of water in the room on both days as well.

Breakfast was enjoyable also and a clean, small dining room suitable for catering for all the guests. You had a choice of cereal including homemade muesli’s and jam. Fresh fruit and a full English breakfast from locally sourced butchers etc. We enjoyed our breakfast on both days.

The Guest house is ideally situated, we parked our car up and didn't move it until we left on the Sunday morning. We managed to walk from Griff House into the town, to the Opera House, to the Pavillion Gardens, also to Pooles Cavern as well as to the town for our evening meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnoldhenryrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House so much to your liking. Your room (8) is usually a twin, the beds were 'zipped & linked' for your stay.

Your review was in such detail there's nothing more to add other than to say that we hope to see you again soon!
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Griff House for the first time last week. The guest house is well located in a very quiet area of Buxton, yet within easy walking distance of the town centre. The bedroom and ensuite were spotlessly clean and the room benefited from a fridge which was handy for keeping bottles of water cool, plus there was also a jug of fresh milk which made a welcome change from the usual little pots of UHT milk!

It was also a welcome change having home-made muesli and granola in the morning. I don't eat a full breakfast but Martin happily accommodated my request for mushrooms on toast! My husband commented that the Griff's full English was one of the better ones he has tasted.
We had a a very pleasant stay at the Griff and would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Buxton.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the top floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metalminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you liked the homemade muesli and granola, and providing fresh milk in the room fridges has proved very popular too - so much nicer than the little plastic cartons!

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
470 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Had a little trouble locating but did find easy free parking on the street. Stayed in relatively spacious but simple 2nd floor front room with nice bay window. Decent bathroom and linens. Quiet and but a short walk to town. Hosts helpful with luggage and dinner suggestions.

Only real difficulty was there was inadequate hearing provided in our room. Asks for more heat 2nd nite, but if there was any more heat provided we missed it. Common areas of house are quite minimal

Solid and reliable though not spectacular with fair pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. You were in Room 4, with the king-size bed, bay window and en suite bathroom.

We are sorry you were not sufficiently warm, a late September Buxton can feel chilly to Californians! From memory, the heating was put on for you to adjust with the thermostatic radiator valves but probably on a timer - perhaps you had returned to the room after the timer had turned the heating off.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our regular accommodation in Buxton had closed and so we had to find somewhere with the same welcome and comfort.
And we found a gem.
We were made very welcome on arrival at Griff House.
Our bedroom, on the first floor was very spacious with delightful modern furniture, and a large en-suite bathroom,
We have traveled extensively and slept in many beds, but ours here was probably the most comfortable of all.
A super and substantial breakfast, served at a sensible time gave us a good start to the day..
We are so pleased to have found a new base in Buxton.
And by the way, our cases were carried to our room - an unusual occurrence these days

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello Nick,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House to be a suitable replacement to your former favourite. You were in Room 1 on the first floor. We do offer to carry cases up to guests' rooms, after travelling this is often well received!

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night 28/9/13. The accommodation was excellent and the attention to detail made all the difference. The toiletries smelt divine. Will stay again when next in the area. Only a minutes walk into Buxton which is lovely town with lots to do.

Room Tip: Room 8 top floor great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House to your liking. You were in Room 8. We are glad you liked the toiletries, which are the Beekind range from Gilchrist & Soames

We hope to see you again soon!
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here so that he could compete in the High Peak 40 event. This meant that we would be leaving before breakfast. Martin was very accommodating, he provides us with milk and utensils so that we could have cereal in our room before we left.
Great location with just a short walk to the shops and resturants! Very clean with lovely bedrooms!
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyleonarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House to be comfortable. You had to leave around 6.30, a little before our usual breakfast time so we were happy for you to have a simple breakfast in your room.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing