We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Griff House deserves to be the top Buxton B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Griff House deserves to be the top Buxton B+B”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I can only echo what previous reviewer "keithmorley" says about his recent experience at "Griff House", and the professional but personal attention from Martin and Kathryn prior to, and during his stay, That was exactly our experience when we stayed at "Griff House" for two nights (15th & 16th April).

It was our first time at "Griff House" (hopefully not the last), and I'm not surprised that Martin and Kathryn are ranked as No.1 B+B provider in Buxton on TripAdvisor.

My wife and I stayed in Room 1 on the first-floor, a large room with double & twin beds. Very comfortable. A really nice "extra" that you don't find in most B+Bs (or hotels even) was a small fridge with a jug of fresh milk for your tea and coffee, which you can also use to chill your own drinks. There were bottles of Buxton water in the room too, replenished daily.

Previous reviewers have commented about the tasty "Griff House" breakfasts. I'm a fussy eater, especially when it comes to fry-ups, but the cooked breakfasts were appetising - fat and grease free - with locally sourced ingredients, and I loved Kathryn's home-made museli and granola.

We sampled the "Cheshire Cheese" and the "Old Sun Inn" for evening meals (both near to each other in the High Street and only a ten minute walk from Griff House). On both occasions we dined in the early evening, but we found the food better and the service quicker at the "Old Sun Inn", which would be our personal recommendation for good pub grub and a cosy, friendly atmosphere, within easy walking distance of "Griff House".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreweAlexForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for leaving a review and for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you and your wife stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Martin and Kathryn

PS wishing the best of luck to "CreweAlex" this weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
191
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed 16th-18th April. As the title says this truly is a first class Guest House in every way. From the initial booking some five months previous right through to saying goodbye at the end of our stay, we were cared for in a most professional but also a most friendly manner by the lovely hosts Martin and Kathryn.
As others have said, the rooms are so well equipped and yes the added bonus of a fridge with fresh milk provided each day was so welcome, no UHT milk, what a relief. The rooms were also spotless, just like the rest of the property, extremely comfortable bed and excellent en-suite facilities. We stayed as two couples in Rooms 4 and 5 both excellent but as our friends like to sit and read we let them have Room 5 which has two comfortable easy chairs to sit in.
The breakfast was like everything else, excellent. Home made muesli and granola by Kathryn, just had the granola, very nice, a lovely and plentiful cooked breakfast, followed by as much toast as you require with again homemade preserves. Oh yes and as much tea, coffee etc as you require.
The location of the Guest House couldn't be better, so close to the centre but also in a quiet location with ample off street or on street parking.
Buxton was very pleasant to visit, to see the sights and also stroll through the Pavilion Gardens. We also drove into the High Peak, through Edale, Hope and Castleton, fantastic scenery and views.
There are two Pubs within minutes from the Guest House I would recommend, the Cheshire Cheese, we had a snack lunch there one day, very good but our favourite was a few yards away at the Old Sun Inn, we had an excellent evening meal there, the Pub is very quaint with lots of little areas within it. The food and Guest Ales were of a high standard. Both are on the High Street.
If visiting Buxton, Griff House is the best place to stay, we would never hesitate to go back if in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello Keith,

Thank you for leaving a review and for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you all stay.

We also appreciate receiving feedback on the local pubs and restaurants - it helps our future guests plan their stay and gives us an insight as to how our guests are received in the town!

We look forward to seeing you again before long.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everything was spot on! Location, brilliant, very close to town centre but ample parking and far enough away so no noise. Room was spotlessly clean, well equipped, the fridge with fresh milk is a lovely touch to either chill the wine or keep medication. Toiletries in the bathroom were a good quality and a pleasure to use. Bed was comfy with beautiful high quality bedding. In fact, everything in the room was of an exceptionally high quality (towels actually fit around the manly sized man!)

Breakfast was the perfect start to the day, the best fried egg I've ever eaten and I've had a few! The home made muesli and granola are such a nice touch. As was the suggestion on juice, the cranberry and orange mix is now my drink of choice!

Overall we couldn't ask for more from a bed and breakfast. We can't wait to return and hopefully the weather will be a bit kinder next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HariboFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent room, food and service. It was immaculately furnished, spotlessly clean and very tasteful. No chintz in sight! The breakfast was fantastic and the service thoughtful but not imposing. They have clearly thought hard about how to make everything as good as it can be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Walking the Limestone Way, I was simply looking for a B&B in Buxton to spend one night. I picked Griff House at random and was delighted to find it is to an excellent standard. Recently refurbished, light, comfortable. I stayed in Room 5 which was clean, with a comfortable bed, new well equipped bathroom, good TV, generous in room supplies of teabags etc., and generally every bit as good as being in a hotel at double the rate. Breakfast was a good full English with more toast, tea, etc on hand if wanted. Martin was very welcoming, not intrusive and pleasant to chat to. All in all a very comfortable night's stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I were treated to a weekend at Griff House. How glad we were! We were met by Martyn who welcomed us and made us feel welcome immediately. The guest house is beautiful. Our room was delightful. The breakfast was freshly made with plenty of choice.
The guest house was ideal for walking into Buxton or visiting the nearby caves and Solomon's Temple.
Would recommend this guest house and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello Janet,

Thank you for leaving a review and for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the nearby attractions. We hope to see you again in the future.

Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for one night in February. Griff House certainly lives upto it's 4 stars. The rooms and ensuites are decorated and furnished to a high, modern standard. The beds are very comfortable too. A very eco friendly establishment ! Breakfast was lovely with high quality, locally sourced ingredients and very tasty aswell. We also had a long chat with the owner who was very welcoming. So glad we chose to stay there, much nice than any of the hotels we have stayed in recently.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Griff House Bed & Breakfast Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing