We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small & interesting”

Buxton Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #10 of 32 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chocolatetiger66
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small & interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The husband and I spent a good hour exploring this fascinating free museum on our first visit to Buxton. I loved all the stain glass windows and black marble. The staff were very helpful. The art exhibitions were good and the toilets clean. We will return with the grand kids as its set out nice and very educational

Helpful?
Thank chocolatetiger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    64
    24
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,583 reviews
613 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 896 helpful votes
“Museum mis-match”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not being a great lover of Art I found that there were only two parts of the museum that really interested me (Victorian study/Wonders of the Peak). The Wonders of the Peak time tunnel takes you through the ages and is well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Although difficult to access for some, as the museum lies on a hill, it has a disabled access and lifts upstairs. The Art exhibits are delightful and the array of artefacts and history very interesting. A lovely place to visit when sheltering from the rain!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dahjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Visited recently really impressed. Interesting and well set out. Would definitely recommend. Staff helpful, friendly and informative

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angel56xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Approach with caution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was an interesting museum but was a bit spoilt by the amount of children who were misbehaving. The exhibits were interesting but if you stopped to look at something you were barged out of the way by either a child or a parent. I sat in a chair in the main foyer to wait for my friends and just watched a family group at the desk, a boy of about 3 was merrily putting small gem stones in his mouth and a small toddler went to go out of the main door which is straight on to the main street. Both mother and grandmother were oblivious. It was half term week but it did spoil the visit. I understand that children have to feel comfortable but surely not at the expense of other tourists.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buxton Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Buxton Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing