We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"not closed at 22:30 !”

The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
london
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“"not closed at 22:30 !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014


good food served long after all others have closed. The barfood was excellent, in particular massive portions of fish and chips. Sensible pricing on a small range of wines.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank peter29alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We have an offer on for Fish and Fizz which includes two portions on Fish and Chips and two glasses of Prosecco for £25.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    121
    67
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pre Show Perfect”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We ate in the restaurant not the bar. We have eaten there before. You will need to book in the festival. We had charming and lovely staff who were most attentive. They accommodated our wish to move to a table by an open window and were knowledgeable and helpful with advice about the menu. This because, to tie the menu to the festival, the descriptions are sometimes a touch opaque. The food was all well prepared and presented. Timing was perfect with plenty time for three courses in the narrow pre-show slot.This because they are clearly well organised and geared up for this challenge. I have read other reviews about the elderly and retired clientele and must admit to retired though I don't describe myself as elderly. However to assume that such an audience is not discerning maybe somewhat misguided. If you are discerning, (young or old) I suspect you will eat happily here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dicampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. All of the staff do work very hard to ensure guests have an enjoyable experience and I'm so glad that you found this to be the case.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Derby and Joan”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had lunch here during the Buxton Festival - the food is ok, the service is haphazard (food arrives with no cutlery).
Buxton attracts many elderly and retired folk and this 'brasserie' has been designed with them in mind so the best that can be said is that they understand their clientele. If you want a great lunch look elsewhere

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the food. I do hope you'll return and experience the great service that we are renowned for.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gone off the boil”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The wine bar at the back of the Old Hall Hotel used to be just about the only place to eat in Buxton. Two years ago we had most of our meals there before the opera, lunch and dinner. This time we went twice after the opera with friends who were staying there and also had fond memories of the food.

Unfortunately, all four of us were underwhelmed. The menu seemed less adventurous than it was and the cooking wasn't as good as we had remembered. Difficult to mess up fish and chips and steaks, but they managed to make them uninspiring. The ribeye looked to be nicely cooked, rare as requested, but turned out too be on the tough side.

Staff still friendly and efficient – "average" on account of being "order at the bar" – but I have to agree with the other reviewer who detected a downhill slide. At least they will feed people after the opera finishes.

Fortunately, Buxton now has competition in this market and it isn't this place or Pizza Express.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient. We do find our post theatre dining to be very popular. I hope you will return in the future to experience the Wine Bar at its usual best.

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“good pre show meal in bar”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Two meals at about 5pm. Menu attractive and friendly efficient service. Prices OK given quality, pre show timing and proximity to theatre. You have to book-even a var table during the festival.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pjl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The pre theatre meals are very popular in the restaurant and wine bar so booking is always advisable. I'm glad you found the timing good for your show!

Kindest Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Hall Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing