We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - very friendly”
Review of YHA Ravenstor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Ravenstor
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location - very friendly”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very friendly welcome, lovely room on the top floor with great views over the countryside. Shared bathroom facilities but wasn't a problem, no queues for loos or showers! In a fantastic location for walking. Where else would you get pots of tea for four for £2.50, great value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHARavenstor, Manager at YHA Ravenstor, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Im really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at YHA Ravenstor and you managed to explore the wonderful countryside on the door step too. I hope you return to stay with us again in the near future.
Many thanks
P.S. Room 14 is one of my favourites too, the view is great from up there!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    25
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
5
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at YHA Ravenstor for the August bank holiday weekend as part of a girls' weekend in the Peaks for climbing, hiking and cycling.

We stayed in a private dorm on the top floor with stunning views of the hills. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfy.

The staff were really helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and even kept our dinner warm one night when we got lost on our way back and were late for dinner, which we were very grateful for.

We ate at the hostel both nights and also had breakfast there and really enjoyed the home-cooked, hearty meals on offer. There was a well-stocked bar too and plenty of places to relax in the hostel, meaning we didn't have to leave the hostel in the evening if we didn't want to.

The hostel is great for all sorts of holiday makers - be it families, friends' weekends away, couples and solo backpackers, and set in stunning scenery. As a regular visitor to the Peaks this will now be my accommodation of choice as it had everything we needed for what we thought was great value.

A car is recommended for staying here as it is in the countryside so not as easily accessible, although there are bus routes near the hostel too.

The only slight downside we experienced was that the showers could be a little bit temperamental in the mornings in terms of hot water, but this was rectified by just using a different shower (as there were quite a few) and did not hinder our enjoyment or high regard for this lovely hostel.

I would definitely recommend it to others and thank the team at YHA Ravenstor for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 14 (a 7 bed dorm) had lovely views and is on the top floor meaning that you are less likely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tins_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights to go climbing in the local area over the bank holiday weekend. Staff were very helpful and friendly before and during our stay.

The Hostel is great value and provided a peaceful base used by families and adult groups. The rooms and facilities were basic but acceptable and provided a comfortable night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuberino F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
197 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Went to this hostel recently with some friends, had a pleasant stay in clean rooms, we were on the top floor so had a long trek to the toilets. Very pleasant staff, good quality evening meal, although very limited amount of veg. Had a pleasant and decent breakfast. Have a bar with a good selection of real ales, stunning location, brilliant staff. Cannot recommend this place enough. Would also be great for families.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room near to the toilets, not the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We arrived to a very friendly welcome that was much appreciated after a long drive. It's a beautiful house in lovely surroundings. The food was good quality and had good local beers. The rooms & facilities were of a good YHA standard and the fellow hostellers were friendly and the children (other people's) were a joy to have around.

The location is perfect for Peak District walks out of the door. We'd recommend the circular walk calling at Cressbrook Mill, Monsal Head, Little Longstone (the chapel has help yourself tea & biscuits), Wardlow Mires, Litton and Tideswell Dale.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Arrived late afternoon on cold February day. Coal fire in the hall and a very warm and friendly welcome. Bedrooms were clean, good atmosphere in the hostel with lots of families, and plenty to do with lounge, games room etc. We went 'night orienteering' around the grounds as they have a marked-out orienteering course - great fun! The hostel has a wonderful setting overlooking the Wye Valley, and there's so much to do. The Monsal Trail is particularly good for safe and easy family cycling, especially now the tunnels are open. Great place, will return.

Room Tip: Youth Hostels bedrooms are generally the same, although some are en suite. They are basic, confortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

we stayed 1 night after a concert in Buxton. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. the breakfast was good value and a good choice of hot and cold food. The staff were first class and friendly. The place has genuine character and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
8.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
8.8 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ravenstor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ravenstor

Property: YHA Ravenstor
Address: Millers Dale, Buxton SK17 8SS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Ravenstor 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Ravenstor is a National Trust property set in 70 acres of its own grounds with stunning views over the Peak District National Park. There is plenty to do from cycling, rock climbing, walking, visiting local villages or just chilling out! We are a 71 bed hostel in a large country house with lovely open fires, parquet floors and great views. We serve hearty home made food with a passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Ravenstor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Ravenstor Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing