We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”
Review of Kwei Lin

Kwei Lin
Ranked #36 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Good prices and the service is wonderful. Not too full on but attentive. The food was delicious. My husband and I chose the set menu for 2 (there are about 4 of these) and we weren't disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Moodlidood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food packed away”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had booked as it was the Easter weekend, and just as well as the small restaurant hidden down a side street was packed !
The decor is homely and service friendly and menu extensive, something for everyone. The food was cooked really well and full of flavour and packed full of yummy oriental veg.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tetrapak-shakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nauru
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tucked away”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spotted their sign outside the buxton baths and with the help of a local found this tucked away in lower Hardwick street.,
We were there at lunchtime and were very attracted by its 2 courses for 8 95. You could have starter and main or main and tea or coffee. My starter of three mini vegetarian spring roles with a pretty salad was beautiful presented. When our main courses arrived we could not believe the size of the portions as they were so generous. We sat in lovely surroundings with fresh flowers in the vases instead of the usual plastic you find in .Chinese restaurants.. Next time we are in the area we know where we will be eating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annettehall43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejgirling1
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Homemade Chinese”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Went here last night which was actually the Chinese New Year...the interior is very 'chinese', basic, but homely...its not trying to be anything its not. Greeted with a smile - always good. There were 3 other big tables in, or about 7 people, but service was absolutely faultless. We ordered mixed combo to start which i think was £4.50 pp, there was loads of food, all of which was delicious and you can tell all handmade. Then for main we had the 1/4 duck and pancakes (my fave!) and beef with mushrooms with a side of noodles. Large portions, all perfectly cooked, the presentation is nothing special, but you can overlook that with how good it tastes!
When we got the bill, we got a fortune cookie, nice little touch, and also a choice of some traditional chinese sweets as it was New Years!
Overall we both thoroughly enjoyed our food and experience. Left feeling very happy and welcomed, like we had just been to a chinese persons house!
Definitely recommended - id say its one of the best restaurants in Buxton food wise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejgirling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drop in customer”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very quiet, but then what do you expect in January. Food very pleasant and staff helpful & smiling. Can't say more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kwei Lin also viewed

 

Been to Kwei Lin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing