We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Railway

The Railway
Ranked #44 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Visited with my husband on a busy weekday, we had the Indian platter and it was excellent . The pub was clean and welcoming and staff friendly . My only Improvements would be for music to be playing in the restaurant as it would help enliven the atmosphere and to have tea served in a teapot with fresh milk and not little pots . Overall excellent pub !

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    37
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Om nom nom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Have been many times before and always have the chicken and chorizo pasta. With garlic bread. Super friendly funny staff and good value food!

Great atmosphere and a good night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leastimhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“poor service,attitude,and food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

we have visited this pub before and have never had any problems,however staff last time did not appear to have any customer training,bought wrong food,had to be asked where second course was,then still got it wrong,couple on next table got a cold old pot of tea bought to them. Wrote to Greene King,who said they were not taking me seriously as I had dared to complain before,as I said in my reply you can only complain when there is something to complain about. Shocking appalling attitude,so would urge anyone having problems at any of their pubs to com.plain.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just like all pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

An ok place to eat if you are in a hurry. Regular menu with no surprises

Helpful?
Thank WanderlustersESSELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Great food and fab landlord - big function room too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We booked the function room for a group of around 80 people and agreed a hot buffet style dinner with the landlord at a very reasonable cost per head. The food was amazing!

We had so much food and a large choice too - it was brilliant. Staff were really helpful and friendly too. Great place, located just near the station. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway also viewed

 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Buxton, Derbyshire
 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing