We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Railway

The Railway
Ranked #45 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We live quite close to the Railway and we often come here for the food. The staff are very attentive and we dont have a long wait before the food arrives. Sunday lunches are very good, but it can be a bit busy on a weekend although we always manage to get a table. The 2 meals for £9 is very good value at the moment and the portions are just right.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mavis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    37
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ummm????”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Food prices are quite good for the area this pub is in but the actual food it self??? Looks great on the plate but was served cold, i mean some people like their food boiling but i like mine Luke warm because its nicer to eat but no my food was cold!!! I personally can't drink while i eat but my husband had a pint of beer or ale?? He didnt even have a proper mouth full before taking it to the bar and complaining about the taste. The young woman behind the bar just shrugged her shoulders and said "i can't do owt about it, you have bought and drank it now" Lucky one of the managers a bold man poured a fresh pint out and it was alot better. Service was shabby and the staff were rude and unhelpful, luckly there was a weatherspoons around the corner so we ended up in there and had a great meal and laugh with the locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“£7.10 for a double vodka & coke !”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

As you can see from other reviews this pub overcharges for coke. They charge 75p for a dash(which is an absolute rip off as it is 99.9 % water) , which is not enough coke for a double, so they then recommend you buy a small bottle of coke that actually costs £2.10 ! A double with coke then costs £7.10. I refused to pay and left and went round the corner to Weatherspoons who charged me £3.80 for the same drink ! Oh, and Weatherspoons was packed and The Railway was empty ! I wonder why ?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ret123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthwaite, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“called in for lunch”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

called in for lunch, the pub itself was a very nice place, service wasnt very good though, they seemed to be very understaffed, and was waiting to be served for a while but the food was very good, although a couple on the next table didnt seem to think so, and wanted to tell everybody as they arrived, but we enjoyed it and would probably go again if we were in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meals and service”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Excellent food and service from the bar staff. Our individual needs were catered for upon request. We enjoyed the food so much we ate there both nights we visited Buxton and were made to feel welcome. Can't wait to go back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kell_es15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway also viewed

 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Buxton, Derbyshire
 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing