We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery?”
Review of The Old Clubhouse

The Old Clubhouse
Ranked #62 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: US$4 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Recently refurbished Local pub serving food from 12-9pm every day. Relax in the lounge area by the open fire place or dine in the candlelit dining room. This historic building is both dog and walker friendly, and encourages anyone visiting the area to sample our craft beers and wide selection of wines. The Old Clubhouse is the perfect place to spend your evening.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carvery?”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having seen the new carvery advertised and heard good things we went today to try it. Serving from 1pm we arrived at 12.50pm to grab a table in the sun and a drink. We got to the carvery upstairs at 13.10 at the latest.... no Yorkshire puddings... A dry small bit of beef and ham, a 5 min wait for roast potatoes, vegetables were soft and soggy and gravy looked like the dregs.
Live and work local... shame as I won't be coming again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Clubhouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Buxton81,

Thank you for your review on The Old Clubhouse, I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our Carvery yesterday.

In only its third week we have had some great feedback on the standard of Carvery like you have said, and yesterday we did have a lot of positive feedback. I have spoken to the kitchen manager who has taken your comments on board and will ensure that the Carvery standard is kept high.

I do hope that you decide to return and please let us know next time you visit as we would like to meet you and ensure your next visit is perfect.

Kind Regards

Katie Worrall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    96
    65
    48
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Visited twice!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I'm surprised at some of the reviews. We visited on Sunday 29th June on a trip to the Peak District. We were unsure as to stay or not but were hungry and tired from walking so decided to take the risk. The food arrived quickly and was very nice. All the staff we encountered were polite and very helpful. The prices were excellent and were so impressed we returned the following night. Admittedly we didn't visit the toilets so can't comment on them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatalife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Clubhouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Whatalife60,

Thank you for your great comments, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visits to The Old Clubhouse.

I hope your enjoyed your visit to Buxton and will be back in the near future.

Katie Worrall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Change of Management”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This establishment used to be excellent but following a series of new managers, its reputation has dropped considerably. I understand another new manager has taken over, let's hope things improve.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Clubhouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Dennis,

As part of the new management team that have taken over The Old Clubhouse I would like to thank you for your review. As you have said The Clubhouse is an amazing place, and we are aware that it may have had some past issues in the last year or two.

Myself and the new general manager Mark have a true passion for The Old Clubhouse. We are excited to be here and hope to return The Old Clubhouse to its busiest days.

I do hope on your next visit we can meet and you will enjoy the improvements we have been making.

Katie Worrall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Waited too long for an average starter!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We decided to visit Buxton on our day off, as we run our own pub restaurant, work extremely long hours and like to know what other establishments have to offer with regards to food and service.
From the outside, this pub looks quite welcoming. However, once we were inside it was an entirely different story!! It took 8 minutes for the barman to finally show. He told us it would be about 30 mins for food, although there were few people dining.
After ordering 2 simple starters at the bar, we waited for 45 minutes and then we approached the barman to ask how long for our food to be served. He then told us that one of the dishes was no longer available. We noticed that a couple who came in after us had received their main meal before us.
Finally our food came out.......... how disappointing to see the bland plate of overcooked chicken wings and half cooked croquettes. what a let down.
On a plus ...... the coffee was very nice.
Not sure we would visit this place again.
You would think that they would ensure that the food and service was of a high standard, as this is a popular area for tourists and there is much competition in Buxton.
Needs to change guys...........!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Clubhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Gill,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your visit to The Old Clubhouse.

As part of the new management team I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered during your visit.

We are aware of how important high standards of customer service and we were disappointed to hear that these standards were not meet. One of first goals is to bring the energy and passion back to the Old Clubhouse to make it back to the amazing place it once was.

I have sent you a private message in order to gain more information from your visit and also to be in contact with you in the future.

I do hope to see you back at The Old Clubhouse in the future.

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Filthy, disgustingly dirty pub and service with a scowl !”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This grand old lady of a pub is wonderful from the outside (or we wouldn't have went in) but once inside that feeling is instantly dispelled.

On reaching the bar we were completely ignored by the barman who had clearly seen us but decided he'd carry on washing glasses (about the only thing that looked like they'd been washed in here) until he could bring himself to bother with us. Even then his tone would have given the Gruffalo a run for his money. "What do you want ? ".... Er... let's start with "Hi there, what would you like to drink folks ?" or some such similar greeting.

Ok, calm down, calm down, take a (dirty) seat and table, mind you don't trip on the torn carpet as you go.
The inside of the pub is really special, but it looks like it's been (un) cared for by a serial killer, everything is too much trouble. I'll say it's consistent though, as looking out of the bay window
we noticed the picnic tables which were also dropping to bits and rotten with woodworm and green mould... we wouldn't dare sit on them.

Then the loo's.... It was like something that you'd find in a prisoner of war camp. Filthy walls with not so recent vomit stains left to fester on them.. the paint peeling off the doors but neatly hidden by years of disgusting hand prints.... the floors swimming in... well god only knows what. C'mon guys.... soap and water... a little paint... look after this old girl as she more than deserves it.

The food coming out of the kitchen looked to be reheated frozen stuff and certainly wasn't homemade. We couldn't bring ourselves to eat in here, If the pub is so run down then what's the kitchen like ? (I'm eagerly awaiting the "Kitchen Nightmares" episode which I'm sure is coming !)

There's a reason this pub is rated 81 out of 91 in Buxton. Instead we finished our drinks and went and spent £40 in the Lone Star instead. Go see what that fantastic place is like fella's and it'll give you a clue what you are getting wrong.

Never again.
.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Polar6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Clubhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Windweasel,

Firstly I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered on your recent visit to the Old Clubhouse.

As part of the new management team we are looking forward to being able to improve the customer service as well as the maintenance of the building. The building will be refurbished in the near future but until then we will be improving the over all cleanliness and service standards.

As you have said this grand building is wonderful from the outside and we fully intend to ensure that the interior carries this on.

Kind Regards

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Clubhouse also viewed

Buxton, Derbyshire
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Old Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing