We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for camping and B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Staden Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staden Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for camping and B and B”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed with a group of about 30 for 3 days ..... some camped and we stayed in the B and B the rooms were out front in the yard and clean and tidy. It was ideal for us .... our family camped and we Glamped in room 2 in the front yard. The breakfast was lovely and the owners offered perfect Service. We would go there again and so would all our family and friends who were with us.
Don't expect large and spacious 5 star its not what you go for.
The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 2 was ours and was clean well kept and more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    48
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
71
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I had the misfortune to stay overnight here last weekend. The previous reviews and photos are a complete mystery to me, they certainly don't describe or illustrate my experience. This 'hotel' is accessed through an unmade track between commercial units on an industrial estate. First impressions? I will post a photo of the entrance that will speak for itself, its awful. The reception area is a disgrace, again I will post a photo. I was shown to a dingey room furnished with shabby old fitments and a door that didn't lock - that was rectified when I complained. Whilst a new lock was fitted, I went to the residents lounge hoping for an evening snack, anything, but they couldn't even offer a bag of crisps. Its a dreadful room, a dirty green fish tank on one side and a tank with tortoises in on the other. My daughter arrived the following morning and was given a room at the back, down dirty old uneven and damaged flags, she got changed and left, to the safety of a 'proper' hotel nearby.
This place should be avoided at all costs, it so badly lacks tlc. Hostels are superior, cleaner, and more modern in every way. It is the very worst place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Don't even stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sissi282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Breakfasts are great and owners and their family really helpful.
Downside was the size of the bathroom which was very small. It was also a shame that the view out of the window was of the courtyard and not the Dales.
The approach to the Staden Grange is a bit off putting as it is through an Industrial Estate but the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinnerCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent a long weekend break here - 3 families at Staden Grange. Its a family run bed & breakfast which has good family friendly environment. Its spread over 5 acres and also has camping site too. Recently redecorated by new owners rooms are nice & cozy but all different sizes though each has en-suite.
Has plenty to offer for all ages - farm animals for kids to look at like Hens, Guinea pigs, Ponies, a pool table in lounge, a bar, board games and books for spending leisurely time. Kids loved every minute of the time spent in the place.
Owners are very warm and friendly people and cook a lovely breakfast in the morning. Beautiful views across the peak district makes Staden Grange a great place to spend time in a peaceful, small spa town of beautiful peak district. Ample parking space & free wifi.

Room Tip: There is a lovely master room with a large bath upstairs in the main building (room 15)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langleykap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skegness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Only an overnight stay but couldn't of asked for better, hosts were brilliant, premises spotless and breakfast was lovely. The location is great, nice quiet relaxing and a short taxi drive into Buxton town centre for the night life. Plan on returning very soon for a longer break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Located just outside Buxton, surrounded by fields, so plenty of space and very quiet. Tortoises, guinea pigs, rabbits and donkeys were much appreciated by the kids. Snow on the ground, but still very warm and cosy in both the bedrooms and the public spaces. Recently refurbished so beds comfortable and rooms clean. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Range of options for breakfast and happily catered for the children.

Room Tip: Family room (no.9) was perfect for parents + 2 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel1141476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

I only stayed for one night but wished it could of been longer. The service and accomodation is of the highest standard abd the owners are very welcoming. The breakfast is again of a generous and ample serving with a personal first of a pancake included. Log fires to warm the breakfast area. Tea, Coffe, Juice or good ole Buxton Water to boot. I honestly cant find a wrong thing to say about this place you should try it. Its just over the bridge on the right. Its got a gray gravel drive way onto the farm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenieDeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 40 in Buxton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staden Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staden Grange

Property: Staden Grange
Address: Staden Grange Staden Lane, Buxton SK17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Staden Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Staden Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staden Grange Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing