We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping trip”
Review of Staden Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staden Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just spent a few days here because this was one of the few sites near Buxton that had vacancies. We noticed the earlier reviews about the industrial estate but this did not bother us.
I would recommend the camp site to a small group with one or two people with one car, no gazebo and no dog because of all the extra`s that are charged. Would not recommend to a group with a young family because though there are a few animals in a field, this entertained our kids for about half an hour and there was nothing else for them, and nowhere for them to play with a ball.
We had a choice of pitches which was good. Though it was nice to have the shelter in the trees, there were some tree stumps that were hidden by overgrown grass, so you have to be careful when driving.
The toilets were new, and kept generally clean, but I think that £1.00 for a 5 minute shower is expensive. I personally did not have to queue for the two toilets and two sinks, but the ladies in the group often had to wait.
We found a couple good of walks close by, and its about 30 minutes on foot into Buxton. There are also places nearby to stock up on essentials such as Tesco Express and Iceland. I would agree with an earlier review recommending Morrisions. We called on the way home and had an excellent bacon roll and cuppa.
I don’t think that we will be coming back to this site because we generally have young children with us, so will find a site with more to entertain them,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve19872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. Had a good size room, clean and tidy. Nice surroundings, good location for traveling around the local area but a mile or 2 outside buxton so not really walkable late at night after a drink, however taxi was only £6. It is true that the hotel is accessed via an industrial estate behind B&Q but once you are down the little lane it is very green and quite so dont let that put you off. Only downside would be the brief breakfast period, 830-930. Everyone goes in the first 10 minutes so if you are the last to order, even by minutes, you may have a long wait, we waited 45 minutes one morning. Having said that the breakfast was very good and we didnt mind waiting :) I would recommend and go again. Also has a nice campsite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. We got there early and were allowed into the room a couple of hours before check in (we did call in advance as had a wedding to go to that started at 3).

Very comfortable king size bed, had a lovely nights sleep, but the best part by far was the fantastic service at breakfast. The food didn't come out quickly, but we were reassured the whole time that we weren't forgotten about (I took it that it was a positive that the food was being cooked fresh!) and we had tea, juice and toast to keep us going! Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to perfection and there were enough tables that we didn't feel awkward taking our time eating.

Good value for money, but the service was the real highlight.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsg_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Staden Grange at the end of a 20 miles walk. Very comfortable room, lovely bathroom and exceptional service. Restaurant was recommended for dinner and dutifully booked. Breakfast was well organised and excellent selection. Would not hesitate to recommend and/or return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catamarinbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were bowled over by the kindness of the owners and attention to detail.
The breakfast was stunning - really recommend the cranberry and blueberry porridge! Rooms were spotlessly clean and had lots of thoughtful little extras such as hot water bottles, slippers and snug blankets. Really liked the option of the Bed and Breakfast guest bar and lounge, which although we didn't really use this time, is a really nice idea.
Following the advice of the staff, we set forth on a great day of exploring with a lovely walk to Monsel Head and the stunning Haddon Hall.
Can't recommend highly enough. This was a fantastic place to stay.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyscot1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed here with my Family and my cousins Family on the 4/08/13 and we found it to be a great little site.
We arrived on Sunday and had our pick of the pitches for our 2 family tents. The pitches are on a lawned area with plenty of trees that provide shelter from the wind.
We pitched our tents and the kids were able to play in safety all day long. They were able to run around the entire site as it was fairly quiet. There was plenty of things to keep them occupied i.e. wide open spaces, trees, woods, animals.
The facilities for campers are fine. The toilet block was brand new and spotlessly clean. There were plenty of electric hook-ups if you needed them. We were allowed to have a campfire as long as we protected the grass underneath which was great as we toasted marshmallows for the kids when it got dark!!
The lawned area we pitched on was perfect, right in the corner by a stone wall close to some trees.
The only negative I could say is that the campsite owner, although a thoroughly welcoming person, was driving his ride on lawnmower all day while we were there. Seriously he was cutting grass for about 4 or 5 hours which made a racket while we were trying to relax. I thought this could have waited until midweek when the site was empty.
But this was a minor inconvenience given that we had such a good time on our short stay.
One tip for future campers is that when you wake up and its pouring with rain get your clan together and get down to the local Morrison's restaurant for a hot breakfast. Its close to the site and is cheap, hot and lovely.
A lovely site, well worth a trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for only one night, booked on reviews read here. Wasn't disappointed. Very clean room and loved the bathroom, which was huge! Excellent breakfast and very quiet location. Shame we only stayed for one night as it was a special treat after a visit to the Denby factory. Would like to return with the children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#6 of 39 in Buxton
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staden Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staden Grange

Address: Staden Grange Staden Lane, Buxton SK17 9RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Buxton
Price Range: £79 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staden Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Staden Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staden Grange Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing