We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tea Junction

The Tea Junction
Ranked #5 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Buxton
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Alongside the Manifold Valley Visitor, itself worth a visit, is this excellent little tea room. Making use of the station (now the visitor centre), the station yard (now the car park), and the track bed (now a footpath and cycle path), the Tea Junction has been tastefully constructed to resemble the former engine shed.
Quality of the tea, lunches (and particularly the cakes) were more than enough to recharge batteries after a most enjoyable walk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We visited The TeaJunction for the first time this weekend. We had the homemade lentil and veg soup and shared a cheese & pickle sandwich. The food was delicious and the staff friendly, Absolutely recommend this tea room. We will certainly be revisiting

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We love this tea room. Just had a lovely weekend break in Bakewell and cycled the Manifold Trail which is one of my favourite bike rides here. We hoped that the tea rooms were open, so stopped for a cup of tea at the National Trust place on the way and kept our fingers crossed that it would be open.
The heavens opened, we were rained and hailed on and generally looked like two drowned rats when we rounded the corner to see joy of joy, the tea room was open.
Lovely lentil soup and cheese sandwiches, lovely pickle too, a fabulous jazz singer and it was so warm we dried out.
Lovely friendly staff, fabulous cakes, it is just a joy to visit here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fionalcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A real discovery surrounded by amazing countryside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Whether you are here for walking, scenery or just a stop
off for a nice cup of tea, this converted railway shed is well worth a visit. Next to a small locomotive museum, and in the midst of some spectacular scenery, this tearoom is run by friendly staff and is pleasantly quirky and different from the run of the mill tearooms. Don't expect a huge menu but what is on offer is homemade and tasty, prices are very reasonable and they serve tea out of real china cups!
There is a conservation theme about the place and plenty of interesting reading and viewing about the area, its wildlife and places to visit as well as quizzes/games to keep the kids entertained.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mercuryderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant - gets even better each time we visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Superb tearoom, imaginative & tasty dishes for vegetarians too - something I find too rare usually!
Lovely friendly service from Rebecca. It just goes from strength to strength. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisybuttonIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Junction also viewed

 

Been to The Tea Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing