We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buxton's Victorian Guest House
Ranked #27 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Victorian Guest House redeeming a voucher we received. From the pot of tea made for us on arrival to the delicious breakfast (including the best bacon that I've ever tasted) we were consistently impressed. Every effort was made to make us feel welcome and valued. We were given local information as we didn't know the area, were given sample menus of local restaurants and tables were booked for us. The Georgiana room was lovely and the building spotless whilst feeling homely with the added benefit of a superb, central location.
We're definitely going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Buxton's Victorian Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were very very lucky to have the opportunity of experiencing this delightful guest house. Barbara and Alan were perfect hosts, delivering much needed and appreciated tea and biscuits on arrival and the breakfast was fantastic (brilliant for an ever hungry husband!). The guest house itself was full of charm and quaintness. If you are holidaying in Buxton, don't miss out on this wonderful gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I cannot add much more than has been written already. The owners couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. Breakfasts were great - fresh fruit, natural yoghurt, lovely toast, and my meat-eating companion loved his full English cooked breakfast and kipper with brown bread. Views from the breakfast room were of the gorgeous Gardens, and a short walk from the Opera House. The bedroom and en-suite were spotlessly clean, and wonderfully comfortable, even in the very hot weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aramsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

This is a really outstanding guest house, we stayed here for three nights during the Festival and it is an ideal location for the Opera House and all the other venues. The house is charming, listed grade II and it and the surrounding area is quite unspoilt as it was infact 150 years ago.
The owners have taken enormous care to get everything just right.
Quite exceptional 5/5 across the board.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjsb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The position of this property is excellent, right beside the gardens and all restaurants etc within a short walk. The accommodation are very comfortable with sherry and chocolates in the rooms. Breakfasts are of a very high quality, served in a lovely dining room.
You will understand they have received so many awards for quality and friendliness.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilandjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This guesthouse is a real gem, which made our stay in Buxton really enjoyable, for many reasons. First, it is in a beautiful location, in front of nice gardens and at walking distance from the centre. They also have free parking. The building itself is really beautiful. The interiors are just great, especially the dining room, which is accurately furnished. The room where we stayed (Haddon Room) is great, with a nice view on gardens and it is really confortable. Breakfast is gorgeus (ask for the full English Breakfast!). Such a beautiful atmosphere is due to the work of Alan and Barbara: they are so kind and really helpful.
Thank you very much Alan and Barbara for everything, you made our stay really wonderful. We sincerely hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Haddon Room (1st floor) is really confortable and with a nice view on the Pavillion Gardens.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Our third visit to the Victorian Guest House and we enjoyed our stay as much as ever. On a cold April day we were greeted with a warm fire and a pot of tea in the lounge. The little extras add so much - mints in a dish in the hall, a small cache of sweeties in the bedroom not to mention the decanter of shery and, of course, the breakfasts for quantity, standard and presentation could not be bettered. Barbara and Alan take a keen interest in their guests and we feel as though we are at home. The house is also very convemioently situated for those who are attending the theatre.
We would have no hesitation in recommending it to any visitor.

Room Tip: The bedrooms at the front afford great views over the park
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#9 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ash Corner Guest House
Ash Corner Guest House
#17 of 39 in Buxton
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
9 Green Lane
9 Green Lane
#10 of 39 in Buxton
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#34 of 39 in Buxton
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxton's Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxton's Victorian Guest House

Address: 3A Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £72 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Buxton's Victorian Guest House Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing