We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, welcoming and intriguing B&B & you must meet Dave! *****”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Croft Guest House
Ranked #20 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, welcoming and intriguing B&B & you must meet Dave! *****”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This B&B is a must!!!! The rooms are nice and spacious with lots of character, very interesting, was like visiting a museum. The house being just like the host in terms of amazing character. You couldn't meet a more finer host than Dave who was very friendly, welcoming, and extremely attentive to everyone's needs. The room we stayed in was so quiet that I had trouble getting up for breakfast. Breakfast at the weekend had a small surprise which made me chuckle......... :-)

If TV's your thing, then you'll not be dissappointed with the huge flat screen, although we had no need for it, due to the beautiful town and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanmulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Charming host, very welcoming.Comfortable,clean and cosy room.Ideal situation,easy walk into town.Excellent breakfast,couldn't fault it and we are very fussy!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrycook05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We found this B&B by chance, and were very satisfied with it. The room and the en suite were of reasonable size, the furniture had style. The flat screen TV was by far the largest I've ever seen in a B&B. There's also a DVD library guests can use for free. On top of tea, coffee and hot chocolate we also got two bottles of water and some biscuits. The breakfast was huge. Of the three B&Bs we stayed at during our holiday this was the best and the cheapest.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here several times during summer 2008. My husband was being relocated and we were looking at the area and property. We were so pleased we picked Kingscroft, Dave and Gill were just lovely, they were full of local information and really made us feel at home from day one.

The house itself is full of character and all the rooms are unique, on one visit we had a room with a four poster bed, all the rooms we stayed in were well kept and individually furnished with victorian furniture. The hospitality tray is always well stocked with fruit juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, sweets, biscuits etc and it is filled up every day too.

Breakfast is always something to look forward to, there is so much on offer, cereal, fruit juice, full english breakfast, pots of tea and coffee and toast with jams, butter and marmalade, enough to keep you going all day. Though the menu does have lighter options available.

This is a very elegant house with a warm homely feel. Thanks so much to Dave and Gill, your local knowledge was a great help to us and your hospitality was second to none.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarkywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Me and my partner stayed there on the 19th January for 1 night. The hotel is lovely, very clean with bags of character.

On arrival, there is plenty of parking and we was made to feel very welcome. We were offered a choice of 2 double rooms which were both very nice and spacious.

Our room had a lovely comfortable bed, large bath, shower and colour tv.

Also included were little extras like 2 cartons of orange juice, chocolate bars and plenty of milk to make tea and coffee.

Most hotels give you 4 little cartons, wheres as we had about 8 -10.

The location of the hotel is also ideal, its situated in a very nice and quiet area, but only 5 - 10 minutes away from all the shops, bars and eating places.

We had a lovely time in Buxton, went shopping Saturday afternoon and then out for drinks Saturday night. Had a very good nights sleep and then the breakfast was very nice and the portions were very hearty!!

2 sausages, 2 bacon , beans , 2 fried bread, plenty of toast, egg, black pudding, mushrooms and a good size jug of coffee or tea.

We were also offered cereal and orange juice and the breakfast was very nice - we both enjoyed it.

All in all a very pleasurable experience - we will be going back.

Lee & Hayley - from Nottingham

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
9 Green Lane
9 Green Lane
#10 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Compton Guest House
Compton Guest House
#13 of 39 in Buxton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Croft Guest House

Property: Kings Croft Guest House
Address: 10 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian guest house decorated in a traditional style, all ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast included, outside seating area and bar and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Croft Hotel Buxton
Kings Croft Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing