We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit small”

Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Poole’s Cavern is the most spectacular natural cavern in the Peak District. Wonder at the amazing crystal formations which adorn the vast illuminated chambers on a one hour guided tour. Discover the home of the cave dwellers and learn about their lives in our new exhibition centre. Enjoy a tasty meal in the Cavern Café and explore the fossil and gemstone shop. Stroll through Buxton country park woodlands to the panoramic viewpoint of Solomon’s Temple.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A bit small”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Having been to several other cavern/cave sites throughout England over the years I found this one a bit small, not in height but in length. I persuaded my wife to come with me, she doesn't like confined spaces much, but we are going to Cheddar in September and I wanted her to gain some confidence in here. The guide was very good and knew his stuff, shame about the squealing kids who perhaps should not have been in there in the first place. I would suggest a minimum age of 4 years would be a good idea, as at least you can explain to a child of that age what to expect. The are concessions for the entry fee, we took advantage of being OAP's and mebers of the Caravan Club, a double concession taking £2 each off the admission price of £8. Very enjoyable, but as allready said quite a small cave.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    355
    52
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not just for the kids”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Although it looks like it might be more suitable for younger visitors it's also perfectly suitable for adults too. Interesting formations within the cave and the tour guide we had was very knowledgable and entertaining. Well worth a visit if near Buxton but bear in mind the year round temperature of 7 degrees within the cave!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lugtwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative day out”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A complete attraction. The cave system is phenomenal and the guide's explanation of its history and geology was superb and suitable for the children as well as the adults. Good solid food in the cafe. Plenty of places for picnics and totally dog friendly, but they can't go in the cave. An excellent day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit to the Cavern.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went for a family visit to the cavern. The tour was really interesting and engaging with a tour guide who was friendly and knowledgeable. The children (aged 6 years) enjoyed the cave tour which wasn't too long for them.

Overall, good value for money (family ticket £25) and an enjoyable trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent well worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The guide was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with a quirky sense of humour. The cost at £9 pp was good value for money and provides a 12 month entrance fee.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
 

Been to Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing