We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magically silent and peaceful - wonderful weekend.”
Review of Cressbrook Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cressbrook Hall
Ranked #11 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magically silent and peaceful - wonderful weekend.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked last minute to go to Cressbrook for Valentine's weekend. They were incredibly swift in their response and sent a letter out the same day to confirm our booking. When asked if they wanted payment they merely said that they would take it when they saw us. Lovely service and very personal.
We arrived on the Friday night after a long day at work and the weather was windy and dreadfully rainy - like something from a film! We were welcomed into Cressbrook Hall and shown our huge, beautiful room which was nippy but Bobby had popped an electric heater in for us in case we were cold.
We had not eaten and Bobby recommended a lovely pub in Ashford on the water which we found easily and very much enjoyed.
We slept like babies after returning from the pub in our cosy, comfortable bed. We were woken in the middle of the night by howling wind but for us, this only added to he character of Cressbrook.
The bathroom was very large and had a huge bath with a brilliant hot shower. Hot water was everlasting! There were plenty of towels and toiletries.
Breakfast was brilliant and we were sat at a beautiful window table. There were a range of cereals and fruit and followed by a hot breakfast - faultless.
At breakfast on Sunday we were told to take our time in checking out and come to settle up when we were ready - if we wanted to go for a walk and check out later that was fine. Two hours later at around 12pm we met Bobby again and checked out. She was lovely and chatted to us about the weather and surrounding areas.
We went and explored the beautiful house further and fully intend on returning - maybe for our wedding if my boyfriend ever asks me!
Thank you to all at Cressbrook for such a relaxed weekend, it made such a difference having your personal touch to our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    22
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
63
70
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend stay at Cressbrook in the High Spy cottage. Well away from the bustle of our hectic schedule it was the ideal place to relax and unwind. The cottage was large and spacious and equipped with everything we needed. Our dog Bramble did plenty of relaxing too after our guided tour of the estate with Percy one of the resident dogs. He also joined us for bacon sandwiches after the tour which was the least we could do for him, after his hospitality. We only booked in for Friday and Saturday night but were having such a wonderful time that we didn't want to go home so decided to stay an extra night. We had some amazing food in the local area, Monsal Head Bar (The Stables) and the Red Lion at Litton did the most amazing Sunday lunch. Percy decided to join us for a farewell biscuit on our last night by grabbing our attention by barking at the french doors, which Bramble and our ourselves were delighted with. This is an ideal place for anyone wanting peace and tranquility where you can bring your beloved dogs, its amazing! We can't wait to come back for another wonderful break soon. Thank you!

Room Tip: We would recommend High Spy or Top Spot, as they are large and spacious with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I loved my stay at the Cressbrook Hall in November. It was a little more difficult to find than I thought it would be, but the room was large and it was very peaceful there. The hostess was perfect in every way and made accommodations though it was difficult d/t family illness. I would highly recommend this for anyone who just wants to get away.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked a night at Cressbrook Hall as part of a birthday weekend with friends. When booking, staff suggested we take one of their holiday cottages Hidesaway so we could all be together. This proved to be a great suggestion as the cottage was lovely and spacious, spotless and well equipped (I especially appreciated the fruit and herbal teas available in the kitchen). Although it was the end of November the cottage was lovely and warm, with plenty of radiators and we even had electric blankets. What a treat!

From booking to departure staff were genuinely friendly. We're definitely looking at making a return visit in the spring as Cressbrook Hall is perfectly located for a weekend walking in the Peak District.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Cressbrook hall came very well recommended from Mick Earle from Wildtrack outdoor pursuits for our regional team build on the 23/24th Sep.The feedback from all of our general managers has been overwhelming. The location, self catering accommodation cottages and the wonderful orangery which we used for our evenings entertainment "murder mystery " we're perfect in everyway. The manager Bobby and her team were very accommodating and flexible with our special requests !! Thanks to Mick for a great choice of venue and to all the team at Cressbrook for a fabulous stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We originally booked 2 nights in early June for a quiet time together but Cressbrook Hall surpassed all our expectations. Unfortunately we could only extend 1 more night or we would have stayed even longer! The location was perfect for us, the weather was stunning. It's a family run home which makes such a difference. All the advice given about eating spots, visiting spots and walks was spot on. They are lovely people in a gorgeous part of the world. We will definately go back and next time I will take friends/family to share the experience.

Room Tip: Call the owners as they will place you in the most suitable room to meet your expectations. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtrekker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

When my Husband and I were looking for a wedding venue, we wanted somewhere personal, intimate, and wanted all of our guests to feel at home. We had a fairly small wedding with 34 adult guests and 9 children so we wanted somewhere that would provide all these assets, and be family friendly. We searched for venues in the Peak district and came across Cressbrook. It was perfect! We went to visit the owner Bobby, who immediately made us feel welcome and showed us round. The Hall is beautiful and the grounds are stunning.

All the staff have been great from day one, Bobby was very helpful in advising us with tips of how to spend our money wisely and how to make the most out of the venue. They were flexible with our requests and hall was so easy to work with. I had no worries at all that they had everything in hand on the day, and any crazy worries/ concerns/ questions that I had in the run up were answered for me quickly and reassuringly.

We were fortunate enough to be able to get married in the beautiful gardens, the weather also held out for us to have our reception drinks and speeches out in the gardens before the wedding breakfast. We had hired an ice cream tricycle instead of having canapés, it all worked perfectly!

We had our wedding breakfast in the Orangery. The food was exceptional, we stuck to quite a traditional 'homely' menu, having apple & parsnip soup, roast beef dinner and Bakewell pudding. We had profiteroles as pudding for the children. The food went down a treat, especially the soup and the Bakewell pudding!!

The Orangery is such a beautiful room, that other than simple flower arrangements and some tea lights we didn't have the need to spend un-necessary money on things such as chair covers, the room speaks for itself. We adapted the living area of the Garden room (at the side of the orangery) in to a 'childrens room' which I don't believe had been done before, but it was a huge hit with everyone!! We lay colouring books and crayons etc on to a couple of tables for the children and put a small ball pit in there. The room was clearly viewable by everyone so people were relaxed that they could see the children playing happily, in fact the adults enjoyed it in there just as much!

Bar prices are really reasonable and the staff throughout the day were just fantastic. The day didn't go entirely to plan with timings (over run for photos etc) but it was all managed really well and the staff communicated us throughout the day.

The cottages are all great, we had all but one for our family and friends. The accommodation costs are a little steep but you pay for the worthwhile location so I would say is worth it. We made little gift baskets for all of our guests and put them in each cottage with nice coffee/ hot chocolate/ biscuits/ breakfast items/ prosecco etc.

Cressbrook Hall is in remote location, at the top of a valley. It has some 'secret' walled gardens out the back which are lovely, as well as a some swings, a trampoline and a football pitch which other than the gardens for photos we didn't end up using but they are a lovely option to if you have older children to entertain!

I could write all day about the ins and outs of our wedding, but overall the most helpful thing I could say if you are considering Cressbrook Hall as your wedding venue is go and visit it and you will fall in love with it!! It really is home from home, all of our guests have commented on what an amazing day was had, how intimate/ personal/ relaxed and fun the day was. We wouldn't have changed a thing.

Special thanks to Bobby and Veronica for helping us to have the most perfect day!

Clare & Joannes x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
7.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cressbrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cressbrook Hall

Property: Cressbrook Hall
Address: Cressbrook Hall Nr. Buxton, Buxton SK17 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cressbrook Hall Hotel Buxton
Cressbrook Hall Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing