We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place”
Review of Cressbrook Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cressbrook Hall
Ranked #13 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place was hard to find, but a lovely place. The owner was friendly and welcoming. It's a beautiful old hall and we had a pleasant stay. It is a bit expensive for what is essentially a bed and breakfast, but I'd stay again.The room was a nicely equipped for a nights stay, spotlessly clean and warm.The TV in the room was a little small. The owner was happy to recommend places to eat in the local villages and we had a delicious meal in The Bull's Head in Ashford.
Breakfast was delicious and sitting having breakfast overlooking the beautiful scenery was lovely. We only stayed one night, but left feeling as rested as if we'd been away for a week!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We live in California and love to visit the UK. During our last three visits to England we have stayed at Cressbrook Hall...it is a beautiful place to stay and in a very convenient location for exploring the area. My husband likes rock climbing and we also enjoy visiting antiques stores and National Trust properties...so the area is great for that. Bakewell is convenient for dinner, and is fun to visit, too. We really enjoy visiting with Bobby at Cressbrook, and appreciate how she and her family and staff have lovingly restored and maintain Cressbrook---it is simply a beautiful house, with lovely rooms, cottages, and gardens...and a very good breakfast, too. The views from the upstairs rooms are spectacular...it is a peaceful, lovely place to stay. hopefully we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yosemiteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner had gone round many wedding venues prior to Cressbrook and nothing compared!

As soon as we arrived Bobby offered many different options to ensure the venue was within our budget and was what we wanted. I also couldn't help but fall in love with the location.

From then on Veronica was extremely helpful and ensured everything on our big day went perfectly. All the staff working in the day were wonderful and ensured everyone had a good time!

I would highly recommend it for anybody who wants a wedding in a gorgeous location and want a wedding their own way!

Thankyou everyone at Cressbrook!


Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank NottsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

For anyone wanting to have their wedding ceremony here – there is no finer place!

We had an overnight stay at Cressbrook Hall back in 2007 and commented at the time on how wonderful it would be to have our wedding there. Almost 8 years later – we did just that and knew the minute we started to make enquiries in the summer that this was going to be our dream venue.

Bobby was welcoming and friendly and agreed to our wedding ceremony and reception being held there just 6 days before Christmas 2013! Veronica was excellent at communicating with us via telephone and email and responded to all our concerns, queries and requests very quickly - we certainly couldn't have asked for better communication at all.

The venue is superb for the wedding photographs – especially the wooden staircase and the hallway which were beautifully decorated with a huge Christmas tree which provided exceptional wedding photographs for us. As our wedding was at Christmas time, we didn’t use the garden for the photographs but having seen the flowers there in summer – this would also be a superb wedding photo opportunity. The meal was gorgeous and commented on favourably by all members of our wedding party which wasn’t huge – there were just 16 people in total, so it felt very relaxed, informal and like a lovely family get together. The cottages also allowed our families to stay the night which was a wonderful way to start our married life with the people closest to us.

The exceptional planning of the whole event was down to Bobby and her team who we really can’t thank enough for making our special day truly memorable. We even had Bobby’s talented granddaughter play piano music for us throughout the whole event which was wonderful as we managed to chat without shouting over loud music.

If you’re considering holding your wedding ceremony here, or even just your reception – I’m confident you won’t be disappointed. Thank you very much to Bobby, Veronica, Emily and the rest of the team!

Lynne & Dave.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondefordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked last minute to go to Cressbrook for Valentine's weekend. They were incredibly swift in their response and sent a letter out the same day to confirm our booking. When asked if they wanted payment they merely said that they would take it when they saw us. Lovely service and very personal.
We arrived on the Friday night after a long day at work and the weather was windy and dreadfully rainy - like something from a film! We were welcomed into Cressbrook Hall and shown our huge, beautiful room which was nippy but Bobby had popped an electric heater in for us in case we were cold.
We had not eaten and Bobby recommended a lovely pub in Ashford on the water which we found easily and very much enjoyed.
We slept like babies after returning from the pub in our cosy, comfortable bed. We were woken in the middle of the night by howling wind but for us, this only added to he character of Cressbrook.
The bathroom was very large and had a huge bath with a brilliant hot shower. Hot water was everlasting! There were plenty of towels and toiletries.
Breakfast was brilliant and we were sat at a beautiful window table. There were a range of cereals and fruit and followed by a hot breakfast - faultless.
At breakfast on Sunday we were told to take our time in checking out and come to settle up when we were ready - if we wanted to go for a walk and check out later that was fine. Two hours later at around 12pm we met Bobby again and checked out. She was lovely and chatted to us about the weather and surrounding areas.
We went and explored the beautiful house further and fully intend on returning - maybe for our wedding if my boyfriend ever asks me!
Thank you to all at Cressbrook for such a relaxed weekend, it made such a difference having your personal touch to our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend stay at Cressbrook in the High Spy cottage. Well away from the bustle of our hectic schedule it was the ideal place to relax and unwind. The cottage was large and spacious and equipped with everything we needed. Our dog Bramble did plenty of relaxing too after our guided tour of the estate with Percy one of the resident dogs. He also joined us for bacon sandwiches after the tour which was the least we could do for him, after his hospitality. We only booked in for Friday and Saturday night but were having such a wonderful time that we didn't want to go home so decided to stay an extra night. We had some amazing food in the local area, Monsal Head Bar (The Stables) and the Red Lion at Litton did the most amazing Sunday lunch. Percy decided to join us for a farewell biscuit on our last night by grabbing our attention by barking at the french doors, which Bramble and our ourselves were delighted with. This is an ideal place for anyone wanting peace and tranquility where you can bring your beloved dogs, its amazing! We can't wait to come back for another wonderful break soon. Thank you!

Room Tip: We would recommend High Spy or Top Spot, as they are large and spacious with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I loved my stay at the Cressbrook Hall in November. It was a little more difficult to find than I thought it would be, but the room was large and it was very peaceful there. The hostess was perfect in every way and made accommodations though it was difficult d/t family illness. I would highly recommend this for anyone who just wants to get away.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coppergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
7.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,158 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,870 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cressbrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cressbrook Hall

Address: Cressbrook Hall Nr. Buxton, Buxton SK17 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cressbrook Hall Hotel Buxton
Cressbrook Hall Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing