We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our food was delivered on a tray that needed to go in the bin !!”
Review of Coffee Beans Cafe

Coffee Beans Cafe
Ranked #12 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Buxton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a nice little cafe in Buxton in the peak district. They are not part of any of the large 'chain' coffee shops. It was a welcoming place although slightly quaint. This quaintness however was a welcome departure from the plastic perfectness of chain coffee shops. They do a great cream tea and a lovely vanilla slice. Good for the tastebuds but not so good for the waistline! This is a link to their address http://www.qype.co.uk/place/429332-Coffee-Beans-Cafe-Buxton
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our food was delivered on a tray that needed to go in the bin !!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On a sunny morning we decided to have coffee and scones sitting outside Coffee Beans Cafe situated in the main shopping street at Buxton, and 'watch the world go by'.

The coffee was ok, the scone ok, but served with a large chunk of unwrapped butter, and not an individually wrapped portion. I did wonder if this had been 'sitting around' for a while. around.

The tray that it was served on was very tatty and had certainly seen better days, and if not a potential health hazzard, was chipped and scratched and ought to have been thrown out with the rubbish.

Our items could have been served with a smile, as it felt almost that they were thrown at us, and we were an inconvenience sitting outside.

A disappointing coffee stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerryshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    9
    12
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice food good friendly service Good value for money use the one in Macclesfield regular would defiantly recommend this place

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a pity”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Came for a quick lunch to escape a sudden shower and my sister remembered coming in here years ago.We ordered toasted cheese and pickle sandwiches and bowls of chips. The mixture on the sandwiches looked unpleasant and was quite sloppy,but tasted ok. The tea was extremely weak. Chips were excellent.
Our very average lunch would have been bearable if it had not been accompanied by the loud conversation of a waitress who was sitting at a table near the servery. She was talking and laughing very loudly to another waitress who was behind the counter.
We would not bother going in again. There are plenty of much better cafés in Buxton

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank redcar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We decided to visit this cafe for breakfast. It's on the High Street in Buxton. I had bacon and scrambled eggs and my husband a full English. I can tell you it was the worst breakfast I have ever had. The bacon was like cardboard, definitely been out for a couple of days and the eggs were well overcooked. I wanted to complain but my husband would not let me. AVOID. If we visit Buxton again I will be more choosey where I eat. It was also obvious that none of the tables had been cleaned down from the day before.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice & friendly”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Small & narrow but quite comfy as went there with daughter n 1yo son. Quite a wide selection of cakes. Had a nice apple crumble with vanilla ice-cream, caramel shortbread & a cheese tomato toasted sandwich. Friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank a_azha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Beans Cafe also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Coffee Beans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing