We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, welcoming and even Adnams Beer!”
Review of the church inn

the church inn
Ranked #44 of 111 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and even Adnams Beer!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Superb food - very welcoming and friendly.
Recommend the specials board.
They even have Adnams on tap!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADonny1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed your trip to the church inn. We try to alter the specials board as much as we can to give a wide variety of choice. And the Adnams beer is a popular one with the locals too!
Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good pub food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a lovely pub with a good and varied menu. Good mix of pub standards and some interesting specials. Good size portions too. Service was prompt and friendly, and the place has a nice homely feel to it. Gets busy towards the weekend, so worth booking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for you review. We work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are catered for, especially now we are entering the next busy season!
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here while camping in the area last July. Good portion size and very tasty. I'd recommend booking on a weekend as we didn't and only just squeezed in!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zanidip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are now into another busy season and everyone is working hard to ensure all our guests are catered for. Hope to welcome you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real shame”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We came for an evening family meal and found it very disappointing, the service was dreadful and we stood at the bar for several minutes as we had booked at table but no one approached us, in the end we had to stop someone who was walking past us to find out where we should be sat. We were then given no menus and pointed to our table, we sat for five minutes and decided to go and find our own menus! Again after waiting 20 minutes for someone to take our order we went to find someone, to be honest at this point we would have left but the kids were really hungry. We the waiter took our order and worryingly did not read it back to us! After waiting again for half an hour the food arrived and was wrong, my wife had to wait for them to make her meal whilst we ate. The food itself was not good, greasy fish, bland curry but the chips were great. We are not a fussy family, we have young kids but we're really disappointed we did not even get an apology at the end of the meal and the Church Inn is not a cheap pub so I would expect more! To be fair maybe this was a one off and just our bad experience but we would not go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are sorry you were so disappointed with your experience at The church Inn. It seems we were on the back foot from the minute you walked in. It was the Easter holidays and as such there was an extremely large turnover of customers. I am sorry you had to wait to be shown to your table but as you will remember and from your comments there were several groups of customers who were also waiting. We can only deal with people one group at a time and unfortunately sometimes you have to be patient. I understand when you have young children it can be a stressful time but I can assure you it is a very stressful time for my staff when you have no idea how many people are going to arrive at any given time. Some people book and others just turn up but all deserve our attention. Your table was waiting for you and as with most pubs the menus are situated on the bar and easily visible together with the specials boards which are also easily visible.
We do where ever possible try to take food orders at your table and with members of staff passing constantly I wondered why you just didn't ask if we could take your order, as do most people when they are ready.
I remember your wife ordered the vegetable crepe but did indeed receive the vegetable curry. I apologised at the time and her meal was quickly exchanged without delay. I do remember your visit as mistakes are rarely made with our orders and as so it was pointed out to the bar staff so when you came to pay your bill you were given every opportunity to make a complaint. At this time you said everything was fine. Needless to say I have been expecting your trip advisor comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
214 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for pub food, service and price.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our relatives took a group of us (11 in total) here outside Buxton because of rave reviews from another restaurant ratings site. You will not be disappointed: great choices of traditional fare like meat pie or fish&chips, friendly service, and a clean and homey pub, great for gabbing and enjoying the casual village atmosphere. You want traditional, civilized English pub? You got it here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canucksontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Great review and you summed up exactly what we are about. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the church inn also viewed

Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to the church inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing