We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A heavenly place to relax and rewind”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Toll Barn Cottage

Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Enjoy picturesque scenery and walks from the doorstep. Off road parking. Well equipped kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Enjoy picturesque scenery and walks from the doorstep. Off road parking.
Well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable dining area.
Shower room, with heated towel rail.
Living room, with roomy sofas to relax and stretch out.
Living room, with one basket of logs provided for log burner.
Super king size bed, plenty of storage room.
Light and airy in Summer, snug and warm in Winter.
Cosy throughout the year - Christmas and New Year breaks catered for.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martin S
Rosenheim, Germany
2 reviews
“A heavenly place to relax and rewind”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We discovered Toll Barn Cottage in spring 2010, when it had just opened for self catering a few weeks ago. On arrival we fell utterly and completely in love with it, having revisited every year since and stayed there for twelve weeks altogether up to now. It goes without saying that we intend to return to this wonderful retreat as soon as possible and that we can highly recommend it.

The cottage itself is spacious, very well equipped and comfortably and tastefully furnished having all the amenities one can wish for. It is a warm and cosy place no matter what's the weather thanks to the nice wood burner and electrical heating.

The area is a paradise for walkers with various walks right on your doorstep (e. g. to Fernilee and Errwood Reservoir, Errwood Hall, Cat and Fiddle Inn). Derbyshire and adjoining Cheshire are steeped in history with lots of interesting places to visit. If you love beautiful houses and gardens you will not be disappointed either. It is only a short drive to several railway trails (Monsal Trail, Tissington Trail) and canal tow paths (Peak Forest Canal, Macclesfield Canal) set in a scenic countryside suitable for either cycling or walking. There is such a lot to do around Fernilee that we still discover plenty of new places and things to do.

We would like to thank the owners Sally, Dave and little Dan Mellers, who have been always very helpful, kind and friendly and have done everything to´make us feel welcome and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
We are glad that you enjoy the cottage and thank you for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a log burner, and a quick drive from glorious walking.
Liked least: The fact that I was made to replace an entire radiator (£139) after a mishap led to superficial markings being left on one, with seemingly no real attempt made by owner to remove them.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Mar 2013
Please note that there is a dry stone wall and gate (and then a small lay by) separating the property from the road. The road is busy-ish at peak times, but does quieten down a bit during the day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gegebrigi...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Getaway!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My husband and I got married mid December and following a busy honeymoon and the hectic Christmas season we decided to get away for a relaxing New Years break.

Toll Barn Cottage lived up to all of our expectations; it is beautifully renovated, very roomy for 2, very clean and had all the amenities we required. We particulary enjoyed the log burner! We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful.

The area is absolutely beautiful and very atmospheric that time of year. There a lots of walks and stunning scenery. The cottage is a 5 minute walk form a local pub, wehere we popped for a drink and found them to be very friendly. Buxton is just a 10 minute drive away, very pretty and we visited the caves there. We spent New Years Eve at the Cock in Whaley Bridge where we had a delicious meal and were made to feel very welcome.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing time, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil-wan
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
“A beautifully converted space, which makes for an idyllic holiday destination in all seasons.”
Reviewed 30 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We decided to have a week away prior to the arrival of our first child and chose Toll Barn Cottage both because of it's location and the modern style of the conversion of this beautiful building. We were not disappointed. The cottage is beautiful and very well fitted out, with everything you could possibly need during your stay. It's very spacious and the galleried first floor adds a really lovely design feature.

Being seven months pregnant, it was great to have a few walks right on the doorstep. The reservoirs offer great circular walks, and meant that our mud loving dog arrived back from walks as clean as he left which is very unusual. The surrounding area offers great days out, but equally this cottage is great for a relaxing holiday. We very much enjoyed our evenings in front of the fire, and were very sad to leave. It's a great couples get away, and was excellent to find such a lovely property which we could take our dog to.

If there is a downside to the property, it is it's proximity to the road. Having said that, it's not a terribly busy road outside the peak hours, and the bedroom is set to the back of the property meaning we remained undisturbed during our morning lay in's.

We will definitely return should the opportunity arise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks and the wood burner.
Liked least: The road, but it was less busy than expected.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing