We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a man thing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Sun Inn

The Old Sun Inn
Ranked #41 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: British, Grill, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Old Sun Inn is a 17th-century converted coaching inn with stone floor and oak panelling. The pub is the second oldest building in Buxton, with a vintage styled interior, working fireplace and beautiful outdoor drinking area. Situated in the beautiful and famous spa town of Buxton, the Old Sun is set back from the main road and is a traditional coaching inn with many original features. With real oak and stone floors, panelled walls and rustic furniture this is an ideal place to relax and unwind. The pub is full of segregated but not enclosed areas, probably best described as full of "nooks and crannies". We serve locally sourced, homemade food and prides itself on friendly service and a warm welcome • beers/wine • real ale • bottled beers • cask ales • child friendly • country pubs • dog friendly • draught beer • family pubs • function rooms & banqueting • home cooked food • internet access • restaurants • sunday lunches • traditional lunches • wheelchair accessible • outdoor seating area • open fire • quiz night • dog friendly • live music • locally sourced food
Whitehaven, Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its a man thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great old building, great choice of ales. Really loved the open fire which the staff allowed us to maintain!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    50
    5
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little pub, a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This pub looks like its been around forever, its a rabbit warren of small interconnected rooms with tons of charm, the beer is good too with a great selection of local and guest ales. My wife and I went into this pub just as the weather started to deteriorate, (I was kind of hoping we would be snowed in) so we decide to eat there, the food was simple but wholesome and great value (the bangers and mash was fabulous)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grampy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Stratford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went in here a week ago, have previously enjoyed the ambience and beer (before the renovation by).

I was hungry at Saturday lunchtime so thought we would pop in and try it out, thinking that it was the pub we remembered a couple of years back. How wrong we were. It was empty, with only two other customers in the front room.

I ordered the Burger, wanting something light and not too expensive as the soup was tomato and basil and I did not fancy that. My wife sensibly did not order.
Basically it had a rather reddish hue and was very chewy and was more akin to the old hamburgers of the 70's. The chips had a slight fishy hint, so maybe the oil needed changing. At £6 it did not break the bank, but one expects better.

We advised the staff of our views, but still paid.

As for the refurbishment: It has removed all the "shabby but comfy" feel and with it the atmosphere too.

Shame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank youngbonavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NYE - lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We popped in on new years eve for one drink. When we arrived a small group of local musicians were playing. We had several drinks and enjoyed the music. A great night!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Friendly local pub with good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just stopped off one rainy evening for a drink and my husband had a meal. The service was very friendly and efficent, the food was peantiful, reasonable and tasty, whatmore do you need?l

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chelletom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Sun Inn also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Old Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing