We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Sun Inn

The Old Sun Inn
Ranked #40 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: British, Grill, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Old Sun Inn is a 17th-century converted coaching inn with stone floor and oak panelling. The pub is the second oldest building in Buxton, with a vintage styled interior, working fireplace and beautiful outdoor drinking area. Situated in the beautiful and famous spa town of Buxton, the Old Sun is set back from the main road and is a traditional coaching inn with many original features. With real oak and stone floors, panelled walls and rustic furniture this is an ideal place to relax and unwind. The pub is full of segregated but not enclosed areas, probably best described as full of "nooks and crannies". We serve locally sourced, homemade food and prides itself on friendly service and a warm welcome • beers/wine • real ale • bottled beers • cask ales • child friendly • country pubs • dog friendly • draught beer • family pubs • function rooms & banqueting • home cooked food • internet access • restaurants • sunday lunches • traditional lunches • wheelchair accessible • outdoor seating area • open fire • quiz night • dog friendly • live music • locally sourced food
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on a tuesday night for a pub meal - it was great and excellent Pedigre bitter. Later on guys kept arriving with guitars and other instruments for a jam session - it was really good. Apparently this is a regular event on a tuesday

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    50
    5
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and unpretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Buxton early evening on late May Bank holiday Saturday and found the first 3-4 restaurants we tried all fully booked. Then we walked into the Sun Inn and found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. It was quite quiet apart from a handful of locals enjoying a drink but it got busier as the evening progressed. We ordered rump steak, mushrooms and chips and poached salmon with new potatoes and a selection of vegetables. There were some nice sounding special dishes on the menu too. We were very pleased with service and the presentation and flavours of the food. All in all very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank COMEFLY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sat here in the sun. Just had some lovely baguettes and chips for a not too a bad price. Tasted lovely and hot when brought out. Beer is very nice as is the wine, and although sat outside in the sun, the inside of the pub is lovely and would be very welcoming at night or in the rain. Best one we've found in buxton

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a good meal and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good atmosphere and great meal - my steak was perfectly cooked. Staff friendly and service fast. Only one very small gripe - the salad came ready dressed but was not described as such on the menu - I didn't like the dressing and would have much preferred this to be served separately.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a lovely meal. Very good portion sizes and the pie was very good indeed. The vegetables were disappointing, I think perhaps they were boiled and not very flavoursome. Good value for money and the girl who served us was very helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Sun Inn also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Old Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing