We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cool holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
front of cottage looking up Church Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of cottage looking up Church Street
comfortable lounge with open fire fully fitted kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
front of cottage looking up Church Street
comfortable lounge with open fire
fully fitted kitchen and dining area
dining area
dinner bell
kitchen window
main double bedroom
single bedroom
garden1
garden2
garden3
outside front - garden and parking beyond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike K
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool holiday cottage”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The location is excellent for buxton and the peak district. You have your own parking space which is nice. cottage stayed nice and cool in the hot weather. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed.
Definitely recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review. The thick stone walls keeps the cottage nice and cool during hot summer days but also retains the heat in colder weather keeping the cottage nice and cosy during the winter months. We hope you will consider staying again in the future. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian N
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We found ‘Smithy’s Cottage’ to be a perfect holiday let.”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We found ‘Smithy’s Cottage’ to be a perfect holiday let.
Unlike so may other lets we have stayed in it was very well equipped, spotlessly clean and with no sign of the damp mustiness we have so often encounter. The accommodation is more like someone’s cosy home than a rental property.
Pam (the owner) kept in touch via text / email giving us much useful local information on local events, etc.
Excellent quiet location, with LITERALLY a two minute walk to local shops, pubs, etc. and a very short drive or walk to the dales.

We would not hesitate in re-booking should we revisit the Peak District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the future. As you say we are very close to all Buxton has to offer without the need to use a car.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian H
2 reviews
“Lovely relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Second time I've stayed here. Really close to the market square which has a few convenience stores on it, and a short walk from Buxton Park, Opera house etc.

It's a nice home away from home.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thanks for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. You never run out of food or drink in Buxton. We are within easy walking to all you need whether it be eating in or eating out. The choice is wide and to suit all pockets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Buxton”
Reviewed 10 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a beautiful cottage, so much character, very central and providing all we could need for our stay. There wasn't anything we found that could have improved this property, the owners had thought of everything. We had unseasonably cold weather for the end of April but what a welcome home at the end of the day to light a fire in the cosy lounge. Having parking available was great as Buxton provided so much to do that we could leave the car safely secured when not being used. Pavilion Park is a great place to visit, The Discover Buxton Tram Co. starts from there which a brilliant way to see the town and know where to re-visit at leisure. As our weather didn't allow much walking, we would definitely come back to Smithy's Cottage when we next have want to see the beautiful countryside of the Peak District

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Buxton does have plenty to keep you busy.and lots of walks from the cottage without using a car and convenient buses to take you out further afield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray O
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“smithys cottage was faultless”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Arrived here the week when heavy snow was forecast and came here hoping for the best, but eventually had to give in to the weather and went home after four days. But this was no slight on the cottage which was wonderful and will definitely be going back again to get the full benefit. Pam made our booking so easy by phone and going back to her cottage is a no brainer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review. We hope that next time you visit Buxton the weather will be better. You certainly got the worst weather we have had in many years. This area is so lovely and so much attractive scenery to see so close by. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony A
1 review
“Charming cottage tucked away yet handy for everything”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

An unspoilt cottage with some history in a secluded street with no through-traffic. Cosy inside with plenty of character. All conveniences provided and ready on arrival, good clear communication in advance from owner. Excellent in every respect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay over Christmas and New Year. We hope you will consider staying again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill K
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a delightful cottage in Buxton with excellent amenities, well appointed, with good broad band and off street private parking.
Great coms with the owner Pam Livesley.
Would recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for your comments. Glad you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing