We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Holiday House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
151 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 151 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SuzieA
York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday House”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our third visit to Pete and Catherine's super property. We enjoy it so much, we keep coming! It is ideally situated in Buxton and the house has everything you could need and much more . It was good to see Pete, (and this time his son) again. The same warm welcome and the very generous basket of goodies. We have booked for next year.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walk in shower
Liked least: There is nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viandrae
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First trip to Peak District”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Super house in a great location very handy for shops and restaurants and pubs, also very close to the large beautiful park which makes for a lovely walk into Lower Buxton.
We can't thank Pete and his wife enough for letting us use their house also the welcome pack was really much appreciated, lovely bread and great cookies.The Brew Dog Beer was unexpected but really enjoyed.
The house is exactly like the web site photographs.
All in all we had a wonderful week a lot of this gad to do with staying at the Servants Quarters

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: None of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very clean and comfortable and everything there for the guests convenience.”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owners made us so very welcome and provided a lovely welcome basket containing home-made bread and cookies - delicious! A comfortable property with every convenience. If there is a downside to the property it would be that it is on 3 floors and I would not recommend it for guests with limited mobility. However , bearing in mind it is situated in hilly Buxton, it is 'par for the course'!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access from the property to all anenities.
Liked least: The 3 floor aspect of the accommodation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely home in a lovely location”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Eight weeks spent here in total comfort. The property lacked nothing. Peter and Catherine went above and beyond to accommodate us. The welcome basket was a truly lovely experience. I've never had such tasty cookies, and the delicious aroma of the freshly baked loaf of bread greeted our initial entry through the front door. Then a few weeks later we were given another one! Very comfy beds, bedding was of very good quality, so extremely warm and cosy. Bathrooms, with power showers and plenty of hot water, were spotless. The kitchen is very well equipped. Nice little courtyard garden, where you could hear the ducks and the geese from the very near by Pavilion Gardens. Extremely quiet location, on a pleasant little road. Shops just a few minutes walk. Buses, trains all close by. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Buxton, you've found it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon s
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is the second time that we have rented this property. Every two years we attend the Hillhead Quarry show and after a long day it is great to return to a nice apartment to relax and recover. The apartment has everything you could want, clean, lots of hot water and a good heating system - we needed it this year. I would happily recommend this property to anyone

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alice b
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, very comfortable and completely updated, easy walk to shops, etc.”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had booked this property based on location and the very updated facilities. What a delightful surprise to see how interesting Buxton was itself. In many, many trips to the UK we had kept just passing through Derbyshire, and what a delightful surprise to see what all was actually there! I could hear Jane Austen walking behind me in this quaint town. Many restaurants in town of every kind, we particularly liked Columbine, a bit pricey but absolutely great. We were there over Bank Holiday weekend, so it was a bit crazy, so we got stuck with pizza a couple of nights, so I would recommend booking a table in advance if you are going to be there over a holiday. But plenty of choice otherwise. Great location for touring many National Trust properties, we highly recommend Little Moreton Hall, and many of the others, plus of course Chatsworth (not NT).. The drive over the moor through Congleton was beautiful. The cottage itself was so comfortable, with easy 10-minute walk to the Sainsburys Local for the things you forgot to bring, and a bit further down to the opera house and Crescent area for restrauants. The gardens with the pond are also beautiful, down the hill on the way to the Crescent. The owners checked in on us when we arrived and a couple days later, and answered any email questions promptly, so much better than having the owner living 50 miles away! All in all, probably the best rental we have had in the UK.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cctours
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday cottage to tour the Peak District”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the first contact via email to meeting our hosts everything was spot on. The welcome pack is lovely, we appreciated the bread, home made cookies and red wine. A great way to start our week in Buxton. It is one of the best equipped holiday homes we have stayed at, we particularly made use of the O/S Maps and leaflets about the numerous tourist attractions. The location is ideal, the centre of Buxton is within walking distance and the Peak District is easily accessible. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this lovely holiday cottage to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.