We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cramond House
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
39
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Simply a top class B&B with beautiful, comfortable rooms. Marvellous breakfast and the hosts could not have been more helpful and pleasant. If you are going to the Peak District this is one not to miss.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank HTIMSRICHARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just returned from a brief, sadly, visit to Buxton to look at Uni for our daughter, and were looking for a reasonably priced bed and breakfast, I booked Cramond house on the 6 reviews posted, and whilst other B&B's had many more remarks, I have always felt it is quality rather than quantity that sets something apart. The house itself is beautiful and has been renovated to a wonderful standard. We have stayed in some beautiful hotels and I have to say that the decor and attention to detail here is better than those. The furnishings are muted but very restful, the bathrooms look pristine. Senga and Alan have added little touches from the handcream, to cashew nuts, crisps, biscuits, various flavoured teas all which make your stay so much better. The breakfast was wonderful and Senga is very conscious that her guests enjoy what they have, even personalising egg requirements!!

Those on channel Fours, Four in a bed, should visit here for a fine example of how a B&B should be run!

Luckily, our daughter was offered a place at Derby Uni when we visited, so no doubt we will be back at Cramond House in the not so distant future!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms but equally as lovely, although we had the room at the front which had a wonderful of Buxton and the peaks surrounding it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at Cramond House with my partner Teacupcake. The hospitality shown by Senga and Alan was out of this world. I particularly enjoyed the "merry banter" over breakfast. The size of my "Full English" with Whisky Black Pudding on the morning we left removed the necessity to eat for the rest of the day.

In the immortal words of Lorraine Chase, "I'll give it FOIVE".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced bed and breakfast in Buxton, as we really like the Peak District. We found Cramond House and we are so pleased we did! It is a beautifully renovated Victorian house, with large rooms and plenty of atmosphere. It's been recently done up to a very high standard by the owners, Senga and Alan Doig, who have put a huge effort into making the house warm and welcoming. There were so many little touches, too many to mention, that made our stay so enjoyable in spite of some rather wet and blustery weather! We will certainly stay there again next time we go to that area. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Room two was great, nice and quiet with an owl hooting in the trees!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Cramond House for two nights whilst in the area to attend a wedding. Senga and Alan made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We were impressed with the house from the start. The couple have made a tremendous job of renovating and restoring it. It is finished to such a high quality throughout. We stayed in room 2, the blue room. It is a generous size, equipped with everything you need or could want. We slept well. We liked the folder with useful local information but particularly appreciated the information about the history of the house.There was a wide choice for breakfast. My husband had a "full English" whilst I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Delicious. There was no problem about us popping in and out at odd hours to shower and dress for the wedding and the couple even offered to drive us to the venue.
Senga and Alan have developed an excellent establishment, an absolute gem, and they are a lovely warm, welcoming couple. We hope to go back, stay there and spend a bit more time exploring the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret644368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews