We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly Hotel..!”
Review of Alison Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alison Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Old Leake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice friendly Hotel..!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the Alison Park Hotel, very friendly & very polite staff & management. We took advantage of their DBB offer, the food and choices were very good, we were a group of 18 and no one had to wait, breakfasts are cooked to order so its all freshly cooked. the rooms are a little dated, but with the age of the building it must be very difficult, but saying that they were very clean. other review mentions up 2 flights of stairs, but they could have used the lift.

This is the third time we have stayed and will definately visit again.

Room Tip: If they do not mention something on their web site, contact them and ask, I am sure they will go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay. You were a fun group to have in the hotel and a pleasure to accommodate. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    103
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
124
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband, baby and I stayed at the Alison Park Hotel. We stayed in a family room and there was a cot set up for us. The room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits which was nice. Also nice shampoo and soap in the bathroom.
Breakfast was very good- the breakfast room was lovely. There is a bar and nice lounge.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Pavillion gardens and Buxton town.
We had a lovely break and good value for money.
Thanks :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the stay and hope to welcome you all back to the hotel soon. We love having the babies come back and watching them grow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Hotel was a nice walk away from opera house . Great location . Bar was not open when we got back though . Rooms quite dated but very clean and had tea coffee facilities .
Breakfast was good and staff pleasant .
Would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel welcome. I am sorry the bar was closed when you came back to the hotel, we would normally keep it open beyond 11pm, but at that point if there is no one drinking in the bar we do close it. We usually try andmake sure our guests have returned for the evening though, so apologies for this oversight. I am glad you would return to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here overnight last weekend whilst visiting Buxton and were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff who ensured we had our keys, directions and instructions to enter building. Our double room was on the top floor, up 2 flights of stairs and had a decent sized en suite bathroom, tea / coffee facilities, TV, etc. Our room and bedding were clean and tidy and the hotel was very reasonably priced (we stayed on a B&B basis). It's not 5 star luxury, but you get what you pay for and I would recommend this hotel as a good base to explore Buxton (the Pavillion Gardens are across the road and there is a nice walk through them to the nearby Opera House and town centre). You can park your car in the Hotel car park for free and it's in a nice, safe area. Breakfast was standard fair and was decent enough. All in all, decent and reasonably priced B&B accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaKneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we made you feel welcome. I home you come back and visit us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on a Saturday and had no issues. The staff were really welcoming and helpful. I have read the other reviews and would say that whilst the rooms are a little dated it didn't interfere with our stay. We were staying here as a base for sight seeing and walking so it was ideal as an overnight stop and in a short walking distance of the town and parks.
We had breakfast at the hotel which was nice and they cater for vegetarians also. Dinner was also fine, reasonably priced although the portion size was on the small side for the bake.
On the whole we had a really great stay where we were welcomed and the staff were really accommodating. It's not boutique luxury but is not priced as that either, we would definitely go back if we were overnighting after days out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Owner at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I also agree we are aware that some of the rooms are dated and have a rolling rota of renovation, so inevitably some are more modern than others. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts, especially as a Vegetarian. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My daughter and i along with our little dog (no charge for the dog) stayed for just one night (29/8/12) unfortunately, at Alison Park.
We were greeted by a warm welcome and given a ground floor room (which we requested)
G2 which had outside access to the patio area was very good as i could take the dog out when ever i wanted without going up and down stairs or through the hotel.
we were very happy with first impresion of the room.

When we arrived in our room on closer inspection, we found the bathroom sink was grubby and hadn't been cleaned also toilet paper in the loo from the last occupant i think.
The door to the outside area was very dirty in the frame, and cob webs on the inside, but a quick wipe with a little toilet paper and that was solved.
Housekeeping need addressing.

The TV was small but we didn't mind, the only issue was very few chanels and a bad picture.
Bit dusty on top of picture frames,TV, mirrors and behind loo.

Unfortunately we had a problem but we were moved very quickly to room 104, Nice room, still the same problems with the TV and dust but an added extra was the toilet brush holder very dirty and half full of dirty water or something (yuk)

There are stains on the carpets more so in the Bar area, we also had a stain on the chair in 104.

On the plus side,
The hotel is very nice and the grounds, the owners are very friendly and helpful and always smiling, service is good.
Breakfast room was very clean and bright with a outside feel to it as it was served in the conservatery.
I can recomend the sausages they were delish.
Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked with my favourite "fried bread" (not a lot of hotels offer it these days ) but to me fried bread is a part of a full English.

The curtessy tray was well stocked and we got buscuits, shampoo and shower gel and soap was provided.
Unfortunately the towels are very small and they have blankets on the beds i prefer Duvets.

I would stay here again if ever i was in the area, but only if they still serve fried bread with breakfast, have bigger towels and Duvets instead of blankets and also if i can have room G2.

Nice to stay in an old building to instead of these modern hotels with no charecter.
I would like to thank the people who we had the most contact with during our stay, unfortunately i never got the lady and gentlemans names.

We got a deal of a twin room for £70 per night inc breakfast, i think that is what it is worth and not the price they usually charge which is £54 pppn i think, In my opinion £108 per night is to dear for this hotel and what they offer sorry :(
Well thats my review, i hope it helps.

Room Tip: G2 is nice , but if unhappy tell them i am sure they will move you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DogFriendlylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My wife and I were visiting the recent Buxton Annual Gilbert & Sullivan Festival and wanted a hotel near the Pavilion, Gardens and Opera House. The Alison Park satisfied this requirement perfectly. We stayed there for one week and were warmly welcomed and well looked after the whole time. The dining-room and lounge were comfortable and attractive and the breakfasts and evening dinners provided varied menus and in most cases locally resourced food. The young waitresses were polite and solicitous for our welfare. Our only concern was that the hotel had only two rooms with walk-in showers and we ourselves found getting in and out of the bath and using the attached shower difficult. When we return we will ask for one of the more convenient walk-in shower rooms.

Room Tip: See my above comments about shower facilities. Our room (112) was in all other respects excellent an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaeljohn2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Owner at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We at the hotel are glad you enjoyed your stay and it is nice know that our staff provide the customer service we expect as a management team. Unfortunately as we were at a busy time in the season we were unable to move you into a different room with a shower. If you should book again, mention your preference for a shower on making the reservation and we will happily try and accommodate this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
551 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Park Hotel

Property: Alison Park Hotel
Address: 3 Temple Road | Derbyshire Peak District, Buxton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alison Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alison Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Park Buxton
Alison Park Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing