We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buxton break”
Review of Alison Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alison Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Buxton break”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just spent a bracing break in the peak district and stayed at the Alison Park Hotel on a Saturday night.
Very well situated for the Pavilions, theatre and park, great for a stiff walk.
The hotel décor is a little tired but is clean and the owners/staff very helpful and friendly.
At the price I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    104
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
126
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and the first thing we noticed on entering was the all pervading smell of stale cooking oil. Our room was equipped with 'cheap' furniture and fittings and done to an extremely average DIY standard. The carpet was stained and the bathroom was much in need of a refurb. Bedroom doors painted green - interesting! Advertised free Wifi but couldn't get it to work even in the bar.
Breakfast was very good and served by friendly young lady.
We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenBrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here earlier this year with a last minute decision to visit Buxton. We got what we asked for, a comfortable room with everything supplied that we wanted. The hotel could perhaps do with a lick of paint, but it is typically English, so our cousins from the good ol' US of A won't perhaps find all that they would think of as normal. So what! You are not in Arkansas now. Breakfast quite OK and very pleasantly served. Good position at the end of the wide path beside the very nice municipal gardens leading into the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientwokkadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The family room was lovely. It had a separate bathroom which was large and very clean. Breakfast was lovely and the staff made us feel very welcome. I would recommend this hotel as a relaxed place to stay. It ain't the Hilton, but nor does it pretend to be.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed here for just under a week on business and since have advised the travel company who work for the company to remove the hotel from their list of portfolio. When I arrived after work around 6:30/7pm I was advised I couldn't dine in the restaurant as there wasn't enough produce, so OK I had bar snacks instead. The waitress who served me didn't no what the selection of sandwiches was, didn't know was sauces came with the wedges and then wasn't able to serve me alcohol - great. After dinner I went to my room. It honestly looked like the hotel hadn't been renovated since the 70's. It wasn't the cleanest, there was a big lump of hair in my shower.
Breakfast doesn't start till 8:30 - the time I had to be in work, so they kindly offered to open at 8am for me so I could have a cooked breakfast. Very nice of them. However they got the order wrong, and I was the only person eating at this point. How hard can it be to cook scrambled egg and beans on toast? They realised just as I was leaving it was wrong - I couldn't be bothered to complain at this point. The next night/breakfast I didn't bother. My final night I was tired though so decided to go to the restaurant again. I was told again I could only have bar snacks as there wasn't enough produce - really?! Again?! How does this place function? Ok, so I was tired so I let it slide. I ordered a cheese and onion sandwich on brown bread - 30 minutes later it arrived on white bread. Again I couldn't be bothered complaining, until I found a hair in it and then I got really annoyed.
So many other options to stay in Buxton, which I discovered the over the next few weeks, so don't stay here. Check out for me revolved round me leaving them a note and the keys to say I had gone, there was no one around when I left, still in bed I think!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripMember01282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Alison Park is just what it says it is - 'AA ** Small Hotel' and it's very good at it. It is family run hotel, wholly unpretentious, comfortable, serves good food and the staff are friendly and helpful without being 'matey'. The rooms are pretty basic but comfortable, adequate to our needs and some have level entry shower suitable for disabled. The location is good for both the Pavilion Gardens/ Opera House and the town centre - and it's quiet. If the car park is full there is plenty of street parking immediately outside the entrance. As far as wheelchair access is concerned it is by far the best hotel in the town and as long as you aren't looking for the services of a **** hotel then in my experience (and we've been there several times and recommended it to friends) you'll be very lucky to find better value for money.

Room Tip: My choice is limited by wheelchair accessibility, but I doubt if they have an 'bad' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

What a lovely time was had by all.
Wonderful food and friendly staff. The young waiter staff were delightful. My bed was just as I like it and we were warm in the absence of summer.
So useful having the Pavilion Gardens, Opera House and town centre so close as were all of a certain age. Lovely to have a family run 2 nd generation Hotel.
We hope to return sometime.

Thank you Alison Park Team

Room Tip: I can only speak for my room 104 We were in a twin at the roadside of the hotel but it was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I am so glad your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you all again. What a fun group you all were, I am glad a put in a special request for the weather. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.4 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Park Hotel

Property: Alison Park Hotel
Address: 3 Temple Road | Derbyshire Peak District, Buxton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alison Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Alison Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Park Buxton
Alison Park Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing