We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buxton Good Value Hotel”
Review of Alison Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alison Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Buxton Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 for a night with the girls. We had Room 202 right at the top. All tip top cleanliness but the double bed mattress was a bit uncomfortable

Good value for money for the location. Less than a mile to town centre and the Poole Cavern and Pavilion gardens are a lot closer than that. If you want to drink then the taxi on a Saturday night came instantaneously and only cost £2.80. Very convenient.

Décor a bit dated - carpet on floor 2 could do with replacing but this is a good value hotel. A communal exterior bathroom for us 4 was also a bit of a nuisance especially when folk were coming and going with the creaking door through the night....

Breakfast service great - swift, friendly and tasty but a Sunday morning slot of 8.30 - 9.30am was a bit limiting. I appeared at 9.29am so just made it in time.... Owls take note

Car parking plentiful in the hotel and on the road - there is nothing more annoying than finding you can't get your car in anywhere! Happily that wasn't the case here.

Check in and check out very efficient - a manual approach is so much faster than the endless computer fiddling at bigger hotels!

Would I stay again? Yes definitely.
But not if I had a frail guest or one that I was trying to impress with a swanky hotel

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 202 (family room) if you're not up to lugging your suitcases up two flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    107
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
129
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from a weekend away at Alison Park Hotel. My partner and I booked this as a wowcher deal for two nights and a three course meal. I must point out that the hotel's best asset is certainly it's staff. Everyone we came into contact with was lovely and friendly, we were met by a lovely chap (we think was one of the owners) who greeted us and gave us our key to our room. The room was perfectly adequate, while the decor was not to our taste it had clearly been painted recently and the bathroom was nice and fresh. Most importantly it was clean.

We dined in the restaurant on the first night, the food was nice albeit a little old fashioned, but we found the wine and drinks to be very good value. One thing we thought was that the restaurant and lounge areas could have done with some background music as it was very quiet in there. Breakfast on both mornings was good with a decent selection.

As others have mentioned, the location is great for Buxton and the gardens near by are beautiful.

Overall we thought the hotel was a perhaps for a slightly older demographic but we enjoyed it none the less.

Room Tip: We were in room 203, up 2 flights of stairs (fine for us), very quiet and recently pained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

concerned after buying wowcher deal,almost did not go,but on arrival very friendly, hotel clean, room clean and recently refurb, this is an old manor style house, yes it had green doors in the corridor but it was not that bad, there was wood chip painted , but the hotel is clean and this is pretty much in keeping and in character for the age of building, has original old coving etc lovely building, bar and longe had traditional oak panels, light and clean restaurant and the food was excellent, staff very polite and proffesional, there was one room being refirbed whilst we were there so obviously aware of previous complaints, but we had great time and will go back again, we have stopped at modern corporate motels that are all plastic , medical clean and look great but are MDF,will last 5 mins like our concrete flats, but this has character and built to last, take in the beauty of history , also council food rating ,5 for food hygiene.

Room Tip: we had room 112 , bright airy yet private,overlooked other large dated properties and felt just rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I recently stayed here and chose it specifically because I am intolerant to numerous food groups (including gluten and dairy) and they say that they can cope with this. Went to breakfast and asked what gluten free cereals were available - none. Ordered a cooked breakfast - no gluten free sausages, so all that was available was bacon and a fried egg. I got the same amount of each as my wife who ordered the Full English. there was gluten free toast available and they did provide soya milk for my tea. It would have been nice to have some soya milk and gluten free biscuits available in the room.

Apart from the above, the hotel was good, great location, rooms were OK and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freda_Wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
We do indeed cater for the dietary requirements. Breakfast our cornflakes and rice crispies are gluten free which are 50% of the cereal available. And no we do not have a gluten free sausage but as this is one element on a large breakfast menu we do not offer an alternative, however your comment about only have bacon and egg is a little off... our full breakfast also includes, beans, tomato, mushrooms all of which are gluten free and fried bread, which we always buy in special gluten free when a guest mentions their diet. You could have asked for a jug of soya milk to take to the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just spent a bracing break in the peak district and stayed at the Alison Park Hotel on a Saturday night.
Very well situated for the Pavilions, theatre and park, great for a stiff walk.
The hotel décor is a little tired but is clean and the owners/staff very helpful and friendly.
At the price I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and the first thing we noticed on entering was the all pervading smell of stale cooking oil. Our room was equipped with 'cheap' furniture and fittings and done to an extremely average DIY standard. The carpet was stained and the bathroom was much in need of a refurb. Bedroom doors painted green - interesting! Advertised free Wifi but couldn't get it to work even in the bar.
Breakfast was very good and served by friendly young lady.
We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenBrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here earlier this year with a last minute decision to visit Buxton. We got what we asked for, a comfortable room with everything supplied that we wanted. The hotel could perhaps do with a lick of paint, but it is typically English, so our cousins from the good ol' US of A won't perhaps find all that they would think of as normal. So what! You are not in Arkansas now. Breakfast quite OK and very pleasantly served. Good position at the end of the wide path beside the very nice municipal gardens leading into the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientwokkadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
10.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Park Hotel

Property: Alison Park Hotel
Address: 3 Temple Road | Derbyshire Peak District, Buxton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alison Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Alison Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Park Buxton
Alison Park Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing