We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what expected”

The Cheshire Cheese
Ranked #22 of 111 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not what expected”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in late one Fri eve, and felt a bit like the moors pub on American Werewolf. Barmaid was not exactly friendly and quite a frosty atmosphere. We had bar snacks and a pint but left after that. It may be much better in the day when they expect townies in and if you buy food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    100
    30
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best chips I've ever tasted”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were very lucky to find this place on a recent trip to Buxton - we snuck in just before they finished serving food, and found it was 2 meals for just £10. Win! I wasn't expecting the quality to be so high... The staff were exceptionally friendly/nice, and my gammon dish was excellent. In particular I HAVE to mention the chips, one the menu as "double-cooked" which I haven't seen before. Can everybody double cook my chips from now on please? They tasted so flavoursome it was unreal. Loved them, the best chips I've ever had. Altogether unbelievable value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSpiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Touring Holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

After walking round Buxton we came across The Cheshire Cheese Inn. Really lovely Pub! Friendly welcome received from the Staff. Lovely food and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we visited this pub with friends. there was 4 adults and 5 children. The pub itself creates a lovely atmosphere, the facilities are clean.
The food was lovely, home cooked food. I defiantly recommend having the chips! the childrens meals were a good value too.
unfortunately when we visited the pub was a busy Saturday night. this meant an hour long wait for the food, this felt like eternity with 5 small children to entertain.
I would recommend visiting this pub for food, it is a good family pub, but book for a weekend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
229 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lots of pubs in Buxton so we were really pleased that the one we decided to eat in was really good. Lots of choice on the menu and all locally sourced and home cooked food. The lamb and rosemary pie was delicious as was the chocolate brownie.
Food takes a while as cooked to order but this gives you a chance to try a few real ales while you wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheshire Cheese also viewed

Buxton, Derbyshire
 
 

Been to The Cheshire Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing