We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buxton Tap House

Buxton Tap House
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here on the off chance just because we were passing, we did not expect it to be so lovely inside. My boyfriend was in heaven with the amount of craft beer they had to offer, it was a bit of a task to get him out of the place.
It has a lovely atmosphere and it was lovely and cosy and very clean. Would definitely recommend if you are a beer lover.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    168
    40
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“colleagues leaving party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice food in a nice setting. Wouldn't say it was absolutely fantastic but it was still good. It was however overpriced for what you got.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DAWN24Buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great food and even better beer!! Gluten free options too. Lovely relaxed atmosphere with great music

Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish this was my local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Well actually I'm glad this isn't my local because I would be 25 stone and an alcoholic! This is the kind of place we could both easily waste many hours! The beer is fantastic, the wine is great and the food is unpretentious and delicious. Staff are friendly and attentive, and seem to know a lot about their product which really makes a difference. Managed to scoff our way through the pork sliders, full rack of babyback robs and chowder!
We will come back to Buxton just to come back here

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ustwofoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great drop of beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ended up in the tap house by mistake, we actualy wanted the tex mex place upstairs, but we were tempted by some great beers to stop and sample them, The staff were clued up on the beers and could give an opinion and description of them, a nice find in the centre of a busy town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buxton Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Buxton Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing