We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cosy Room at Convenient Westminster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here with another couple for two nights. We both couples had good rooms with lovely view over park. Comfortable bed, welcome reception and generous breakfast. Hotel has lounge area with what looked like an honesty bar but we didn't really have time to try it. Had a lovely weekend in Buxton, visiting craft fair, going to see Northern Broadsides' production of Love Labour's Lost at Buxton Opera House and generally chilling out. Ate at Firenze and St. Mortiz, both of which were good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very clean and tidy, good welcome, because of our early start with work, they did us an exellent pack lunch. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertjones1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed with my wife for 2 nights fri 17/2/12, 18/2/12 ,hotel overlooks pavilion gardens,but our room didn,t it looked onto next hotel, £140 for ensuite ,ensuite very very small 10ft x 4ft was the bathroom i have bigger cupboards at home,breakfast was very nice although a little regimental, ie, sit there, help yerself to juice, etc etc,no complimentary biscuits in room and tea/coffee basic , not good for £140 ,still would stay again but price would have to be around the £100 mark.i am a retired hotelier and know what i am talking abt

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longstaffs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Myself and my partner booked the whole of the Westminster for our wedding guests including my bridesmaids. During the process of booking everyone in, Shelly the owner could not have been more helpful. Even when I was sick of making the changes, she was warm and kind. All my guests commented on how warm, clean and welcoming the hotel was and they also said the breakfast was just what they needed, after a night of dancing

It was also 4 minutes walk form the wedding reception, so perfect. The location is great.

tip-

Room Tip: if you can book one of the rooms with park views do, they are a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ames937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We were there for the International G & S Festival in August. Our host Shelley was great and very helpful. The room we had was on the 1st floor and was very clean and comfortable. The shower/en-suite was fine.

The breakfast was just great and was the perfect start to each day for us. The location was fantastic with a short walk across the beautiful Pavillion gardens to the Opera House. The second week of our stay we moved to be with friends in another guest house, but on reflection we wish we had stayed.

We are hoping to come back in August 2013, and Westminster is definitely on the top of our list.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. Just came back. The location of the hotel was excellent. However we dint get a room with the view..
Anyway, so the room is so tiny... And the bathroom is even tinier. Couldn't have been worse. We have stayed in so many hotels outside London and atleast we get a decent size room and bathroom for the price we paid. £70 a night. Total waste if money.
The breakfast was bad as well. I got burnt toast and cold beans and the lady serving was so old , she couldn't hear properly. No offence to old people but come on...
So please avoid the place as not value the money and certainly not worth the time either!
HUGE DISSAPOINTMENT.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mansi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel was clean inside, although when we looked out of our window, the beautiful view of the pavilion gardens was interrupted by dirty, mouldy window frames. However the room was nicely furnished, warm, clean and the staff were very welcoming. There was a very wide choice for breakfast, and it was very nicely cooked. Despite the window frames, we would go back there .

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pavilion gardens and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,866 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
577 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: £59 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton
The Westminster Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing