We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
N.W. England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Travel Break”
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Not by any stretch of the imagination could this be called a hotel, actually it is misrepresentation. At best it is a third rate b & b. Literature quotes it as having a bar - it does not, unless you count a very small glass fronted fridge with a couple of bottles in it, sited in a corner of the 'lounge'. It is also quoted as having WiFi Hi-speed internet access available in all rooms - ours certainly did not! The decor and furnishings were quite past their sell by date and although we had an en-suite room, the wash basin was so small it was actually smaller than a cloakroom washbasin!. We only stayed the one night (thank goodness) and apart from receiving our key on arrival and being told we were one the first floor - we never saw her again until we were leaving and paying the 'bill'. As a matter of fact we never saw any staff after our arrival until breakfast the following morning - which was served by another lady. Oh, yes and another thing - no evening meals, see what I mean? not a hotel!!!!. Do not understand why or how it is registered with the A.A. and R.A.C.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — booking a hotel only to find it was a b & b - 3rd class
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    104
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
158
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2007

We booked an overnight stay as we were visiting the area. On arriving in the evening, we were not greeted in a friendly manner. On checking in the room, we found that the toilet would not flush and the sink kept overflowing. As it was a little late, my husband took a hands on approach and managed to flush the toilet by adjusting the cistern.

To top it all up, in the morning, we found one member of staff a little grumpy.

On the whole, the experience was not great and for this reason we will not be staying here again.

The only two plus points was the breakfast itself in the morning and the lovely scenery outside the hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We had 5 nights at the Westminster in august 2007.
On our arrival we were met by the owner who seemed very pleasant but we never saw her again for the rest of the stay.

The room was clean and spacious with a view over the lovely Pavillion Gardens.

Breakfast was OK but served by different people evry single day so you never really built up a relationship with any of them. Staff were not at all friendly, they said what they had to "what would you like for breakfast?" and that was it!

There are no evening meals, and no bar. There was a lounge to sit in but no drink available.

Our biggest gripe was the fact that during a five night stay we never once had clean towels, one morning we threw all the dirty towels in the bath in the hope they would take the hint, they simply picked the dirty towels up and hung them up again!

Not my ideal hotel and certainly my last stay there.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Porky1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2005

The Westminster is a good 3 star hotel. The rooms were clean with all expected fittings, the breakfasts were excellent. The hotel's location is wonderful as well, right next to the Pavilion Gardens - if you are a runner, be sure to bring your kit!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeighBCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,617 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
213 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton
The Westminster Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing