We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Haddenham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solid.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Well placed, overlooking the gardens and within a ten minute walk of the town centre, this spacious villa is a comfortable lodging with typical B&B fare. Rooms are adequate and warm. Breakfast is standard fare. Nothing is an unexpected disappointment - the school report is a solid B grade, with bonus for location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaolMuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    104
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
160
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here back in August 2011 and said to the owner we'd be back...and that's what happened.
It was great to see Shelley again and this time we had a room overlooking the magnificent Pavillion gardens. It was a treat to come back again and even caught up with the same guests as we were all here during the G & S Festival.
The room was great and the breakfast was terrific.
Thanks again Shelley...you were so helpful in locating a dentist for me. If ever we get to Buxton again (what a pity it's so far from Australia) we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Westminster in October. Lovely location opposite the park. The rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was average and served starting at 8 AM, which is a little late if you want to get an early start.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkD1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were staying at this Hotel for the first Time. We were very satisfied with all aspects. Our room was very Clean,Tidy and well appointed . Fresh Towels each day lots of Coffee & Tea making facilities. Down stairs there is a nice Lounge with pleasant views over the Big Park & Lake.. Breakfast was Great as much as we could eat . The Hotel is close to the Town and was able to leave our Car at the Hotel & Walk to the local attractions & main shopping area. The Hotel in comparrison to others we have stayed at is Very good Value for money and we intend to return here next spring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Front of the Hotel overlook a Beautiful park but cost a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had been treated by family to attend a concert at the Buxton opera house last weekend. We were fortunate enough to stay in a lake view room , which also overlooked the pavilion gardens. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Smallish ensuite bathroom but adequate . We were made very welcome on arrival and pointed in the right direction for the local attractions. The room was very nicely decorated and facilities of a good standard. Breakfast was a delightful experience as everybody dined together . Tables were for four or two people. We helped ourselves to juices , cereals , etc. but breakfast orders were waitress service, and what a wonderful breakfast it was. Eggs , bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, toast , toast and more toast. Oh ! And my favourite , maybe not yours , Blackpudding. Brill. All in all , we had a great stay at this lovely friendly hotel. In easy walkin distance of all local amenities., and on the doorstep of the Opera house. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for your future visit and we will definitely return .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happyl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location overlooking a beautiful park and lake. But that is it's best attribute. It is just very average, and a bit run down. My husband said it lacked warmth. Compared to the other places we stayed on our 2 week trip it was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgnapoli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here one night in September very friendly lovely dog!!
The room was spacious and it came with a bath - excellent.
Breakfast was superb plenty to eat.
Easy to walk into the town.
Would recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#6 of 39 in Buxton
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton
The Westminster Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing