We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had an overnight stay with friends. Very homely hotel overlooking the pavilion gardens and walking distance to opera house, restaurants and town. We had room 9 at the top of the hotel, double room ensuite. Nice clean room, plenty of towels, toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities. Our friends were in room 10 which was a twin but with lovely views overlooking the park. Very spacious. Breakfast was self serve drinks, cereals, fruit but waitress service for the cooked full English. Very tasty with plenty of toast and preserves.
Hope to return again for a few nights and would request park view room if possible.

Room Tip: Park facing rooms very light and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    104
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
158
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Position is excellent. Price is very low. The price reflects the experience. Bathroom smelly, bed horribly old with bursting springs. Breakfast absolutely fine. Because the position is so very good, I can't imagine why they don't capitalise on that and upgrade the whole place? They could then charge premium prices to reflect that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liviaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely two night weekend at the Westminster on May 30 & 31st.

The hotel is in a lovely location within Buxton overlooking the lovely Pavilion Gardens. The front door opens direct onto the pedestrian walkway through the gardens and direct to the town centre. In the other direction, 1/2 mile away, there is Solomons Tower that overlooks Buxton with great views and Pooles Cavern and if you are really brave Go Ape !!

Our room, number 1, was clean, bright and cosy however the tiolet seat was so lose it could not be sat on and the view from the window was the fire escape. This was not a problem as we only had two nights there. If we visited again, which we would we would ask for a room with a view of Pavilion Park.

The breakfast was also very well presented, a full English saw us through the best part of the day and was a good sized portion.

We were made very welcome and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and away from rooms 1 & 2 as the fire door is noisey and the hinges s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanutandhooverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were delighted to be given room 4 at the front of the hotel. Fabulous view overlooking the wonderful Pavilion Gardens which are very special. Large comfortable room with big en-suite bathroom (bathroom more than adequate but could probably do with a 'face-lift') Full English breakfast was excellent. We didn't use the honesty bar but it was an appreciated facility which was great value for money. Our 2-night stay was just perfect; Buxton itself is a lovely place with bags of character - a great base from which to visit lots of attractive Derbyshire attractions. Highly recommend the Westminster for its location, character, hospitality and value for money.

Room Tip: Request one of the two first-floor front rooms which have wonderful views looking over the Pavilion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our first time in the peak district and staying at the Westminster was perfect. The hotel is situated in a beautiful spot overlooking the Pavilion gardens. It is a very central location meaning that you can easily walk to the pubs, restaurants, poole cavern and Buxton Opera House. The hotel has lots of character, built in the 1800's and is an attractive building at the front. Our room overlooked the park and was very quiet at night. The breakfast was amazing enough to keep you going all day and very nicely cooked. Had a couple of good pub meals at the Old Sun Inn and their Tuesday music night is pretty unique.Would recommend this for couples and would definitely stay again when visiting the peak district.

Room Tip: we had room 4 which had a great view overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My hubby and I spent a four day weekend here in April and it was lovely. The decor in the reception/lobby is old, but the building has great character. And the location is perfect, we parked the car and spent most of the time walking.

But the true asset of this hotel is the staff. So friendly and attentive and the bedrooms were very clean. Breakfast was fresh and hardy and it was spot on for those long walks.

I have not stopped talking about this place since we got home.

And yes, we plan to stay here on our return trip.

Oh and before I forget - On the second day of our stay, after a long day of walking, my husband and I were tickled to find our towels folded up into little animals (swans one day and elephants the next).

Stay here, but don't expect a posh elegant hotel. Instead, you'll find a cozy, clean hotel with a really nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask them not to put you in the room with the fire exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Run_kitty_Run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Westminster is a lovely hotel located right in Buxton Park with wonderful views and ideally located for the town centre being just a short walk. Breakfast was lovely and very generous portions. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Park facing rooms are best for the views of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,613 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
213 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton
The Westminster Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing