We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUXTON break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BUXTON break”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had 5 nights at this hotel which was great. Very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Beds very comfortable and if you have room three on first floor a view over the park.
It was a special birthday and we were allowed to change rooms from no 1. To no 3 which was much larger and better., an offer made by the couple running the hotel.

Breakfast was very good and plentyful have now put on more weight. Would recommend this hotel which also has good parking facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing window over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    106
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
164
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is situated on the Pavilion Gardens which are very nice to walk around. The hotel itself is OK, but somewhat dated and has seen some wear and tear. The room was basic, over looking a fire escape, but was clean. A kettle is provided with tea/coffee. We received a friendly, helpful reception. The Breakfast was good and there is free car parking on site.

Room Tip: One at the front would over look the gardens. No 6 overlooks a fire escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked this on a last minute theatre visit and got a very good deal. We were greeted by the relief manager, who was very pleasant, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and perfectly adequate for a one night stay. The breakfast was excellent, with a great choice and well cooked and very tasty. The service, by the owner, was very friendly and quick. We would certainly stay again on our visits to the Opera House.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had an overnight stay with friends. Very homely hotel overlooking the pavilion gardens and walking distance to opera house, restaurants and town. We had room 9 at the top of the hotel, double room ensuite. Nice clean room, plenty of towels, toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities. Our friends were in room 10 which was a twin but with lovely views overlooking the park. Very spacious. Breakfast was self serve drinks, cereals, fruit but waitress service for the cooked full English. Very tasty with plenty of toast and preserves.
Hope to return again for a few nights and would request park view room if possible.

Room Tip: Park facing rooms very light and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Position is excellent. Price is very low. The price reflects the experience. Bathroom smelly, bed horribly old with bursting springs. Breakfast absolutely fine. Because the position is so very good, I can't imagine why they don't capitalise on that and upgrade the whole place? They could then charge premium prices to reflect that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liviaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely two night weekend at the Westminster on May 30 & 31st.

The hotel is in a lovely location within Buxton overlooking the lovely Pavilion Gardens. The front door opens direct onto the pedestrian walkway through the gardens and direct to the town centre. In the other direction, 1/2 mile away, there is Solomons Tower that overlooks Buxton with great views and Pooles Cavern and if you are really brave Go Ape !!

Our room, number 1, was clean, bright and cosy however the tiolet seat was so lose it could not be sat on and the view from the window was the fire escape. This was not a problem as we only had two nights there. If we visited again, which we would we would ask for a room with a view of Pavilion Park.

The breakfast was also very well presented, a full English saw us through the best part of the day and was a good sized portion.

We were made very welcome and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and away from rooms 1 & 2 as the fire door is noisey and the hinges s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanutandhooverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were delighted to be given room 4 at the front of the hotel. Fabulous view overlooking the wonderful Pavilion Gardens which are very special. Large comfortable room with big en-suite bathroom (bathroom more than adequate but could probably do with a 'face-lift') Full English breakfast was excellent. We didn't use the honesty bar but it was an appreciated facility which was great value for money. Our 2-night stay was just perfect; Buxton itself is a lovely place with bags of character - a great base from which to visit lots of attractive Derbyshire attractions. Highly recommend the Westminster for its location, character, hospitality and value for money.

Room Tip: Request one of the two first-floor front rooms which have wonderful views looking over the Pavilion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton
The Westminster Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing