We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great cafe”

The Hydro Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Cuisines: Indian, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Hydro Cafe & Restaurant is a 1950's & 60's themed Diner that provides delicious homemade food. Service is 5 * and we are family friendly. Come in and soak up the nostalgia. From Full English Breakfasts to Delicious desserts we have something for everyone. Also, we are the only Cafe / Restaurant to offer a wide range of Gluten Free & Vegan Foods.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great cafe”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was made to feel really welcome by the friendly staff, who were attentive without being pushy. The food arrived promptly and was delicious (full English breakfast). By the time I had finished there wasn't an empty table in the building, so it was clearly popular with the locals too. So nice to have a good meal and not just get stuck with the usual chains which seem to dominate most High Streets.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    77
    38
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly, efficient, cute, entertaining.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very friendly staff, ideal to pop into for a quick snack or just a cup of tea.....something a bit different from the usual Costas/Starbucks etc...
Varied simple menu, with veggie and gluten free options...
I had the full English breakfast (served all day) and my wife had a simple scrambled eggs on toast, washed down with a pot of tea for two.
50's and 60's music , backed up with memorabilia and photos of the time, plus a screen showing black and white photos, very cute.
It is tourist prices, but thats not unexpected.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

..... what a FAB place.
quirky and welcoming. made us feel like being in an old friend's house.

we chose it because it said gluten free food available- my son and I are both Gluten and dairy intolerant. What a massive pleasant surprise this turned out to be. for the first time in over 10 years, I ate out and had 2 courses WITH CHOICES!!!

homemade burgers - yum- with Gluten free bread.
for dessert, we couldn't decide so ordered both of the GF/vegan desserts and shared them- excellent!

it doesn't take a lot to offer suitable food for those of us who need special diets, but it does make a massive difference to our experience we also chose where our family we eat !!!

the staff were really friendly and helpful...welcoming and cheerful.

keep up the good work. shame you are 170 miles from home or I would be back every weekend!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BACK IN TIME”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is an amazing cafe/restaurant. They play 50/60's music and the walls are covered in photographs of Pop Stars from that era. The tables are named after pop stars also i.e. Dusty Springfield, Billy Fury etc. The Staff are even dressed in rock and roll type dresses.And there is a big screen showing clips of bygone pop stars. It is really amazing. The food is excellent and the staff are very pleasant and friendly. If you are in the area it is well worth a visit. I shall be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We visited today 7th August 2014 and it was a poor do. We had tea for 2 and it was grossly over priced & wasn't great. The service was awful, the male waiter we had was rude as he snatched money out of my granad's hand without saying please or thank you once! Not 50/60s service as we remember.

Overall it wasn't at all fab.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank microwavedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retroboy1971, Manager at The Hydro Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are very sad to hear that your experience with The Hydro Charity Cafe was not a good one and please except our sincere apologies on this occasion. As we become extremely busy in Summer we have to employ new staff and they do not necessarily have the customer skills straight away and take time to develop. On this occasion we have addressed the issue with the trainee waiter and we hope this will be an isolated incident. Please come again for a free drink with your Grandfather.

Regarding the Grossly overpriced tea?? I am somewhat confused as to what you see as overpriced? Our pot of Tea (which is Typhoo not catering bags) served in a tea pot, with separate milk is £1.80. The cheapest CUP of tea in Buxton is in a polystyrene cup from the Butty Wagin at £1.50. We are a Cafe / Restaurant and have to pay higher rates, licences, insurances and staff wages as it is Waitress service not self service or take away.

£1.80 we deem is a very fair price for a POT of Tea and is the same price we charged 5 years ago. I would be interested to know how much you normally pay for a POT of tea in other Cafes & Restaurants?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hydro Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Hydro Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing