We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best!”
Review of Roseleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roseleigh
Ranked #2 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Absolutely perfect from start to finish!! Gerard greeted us at the door, welcomed us and even gave us a potted history of what to see and do in Buxton. The room was spacious, very clean and had wonderful views of the lake and parkland. Bed with 'elephant towels' was nice touch and very comfortable. Breakfast was fab sitting in the bay window, again with the views. Would not hesitate to visit again if in the area. Super job - can you improve? Possibly not! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIPnMANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We came to the Roseleigh for a relaxing Easter weekend and we weren't disappointed. We had a room with a beautiful view of the Pavillion Gardens (Ducklings included). The bed was really comfy and the owners helpful and friendly throughout, and very accommodating. Lovely breakfast each morning. The Roseleigh is really close to everything too: the opera house, Devonshire Dome Spa (which we would highly recommend) a number of walks, Go Ape, the caves, and the b&b gave us loads of ideas for things to do and places to eat. We loved our stay, thanks so much to Gerard and Maggie!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiesooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our family were visiting from America and we stayed 4 nights at the Roseleigh. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! Buxton is a great little city with plenty of services and so many fun activities that we couldn't fit it all in. Horseback riding, bike riding, opera, craft beers, and plenty of country walks! Maggi and Gerard went out of there way to get us connected with all of the activities we were interested in doing. On top of that, their guest house was amazing! Spacious rooms, very comfortable beds, prime location on a beautiful park, and walking distance to Solomon's Tower and city centre. The breakfast meals were well prepared and I highly recommend the Summer breakfast with pear puree, warm granola, fresh raspberries, and creme fraiche! Thanks Gerard and Maggi. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estelt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I just returned from Buxton, where we have spent the long Easter weekend. Buxton is not only the perfect location to explore the south side of the National Park but Roseleigh is the perfect place to stay in Buxton. The owner, Gerard, is not only very welcoming but is a source of local knowledge and information. No matter what you may ask him, he will provide you with the right advice or suggestion. We stayed in Room No9, which has a double bed and two nice windows - plenty of light and beautiful views as well. The bathroom is small, which is probably the not-so-good thing about the room. The bed couldn't be comfier or cosier - one of the best hotels beds I have ever slept in. The house is in front of a beautiful park with a lake, so there is no noise at all at day or night. In terms of sleep quality, a 10 out of 10. Breakfast is abundant and well-cooked and the reading room in the ground floor is peaceful and sunny in the afternoon. The best place to relax after an exhausting day walking in the Peaks. We are definitely coming back to Roseleigh soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

our first visit to Buxton and the Roseleigh. lovely b&b.beautiful setting,but you need to book a room facing the pavillion to get the best out of your stay. breakfast was lovely but probably due to the hotel being full it was not as hot as we would have liked. the hosts gerard and maggie were very helpful and friendly. rooms are very clean,with a nice selection of toiletries. overall a lovely place to stay with plenty of interesting places to visit. would certainly stay here again. . ronnie,leeds

Room Tip: rooms facing the pavillion are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniefirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Such a lovely stay at Roseleigh: homely, spotlessly clean and delicious breakfast. 5 minute walk to Opera House and centre of Buxton. Peaceful location, overlooking the park and pond. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband treated me to a weekend away and after a day walking in the Peaks (The Roaches) we stayed over in Buxton. A lovely B&B, I wish we'd had a room facing the Pavilion, watching the sunset. The room we had was towards the back, quite dark (had to have the lights on early evening) and quite small in size. The bathroom radiator didn't work so we couldn't heat our towels and it's little things like this on a cold evening that you wish you had. Not a big deal though, the shower was lovely and hot but the drain was blocked and drained very slowly.
Nice toiletries.
Breakfast was lovely- great start to the day and very personal with waiting staff checking on you. good selection of cereals, breads, jams and teas.
A lovely find by my husband, next we stay- definitely want a room with a view :)
Hosts were very friendly and helpful. They run a lovely establishment and take pride in keeping it looking lovely and clean.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front with a view, back rooks are dark- not much light and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pallabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseleighHotel, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Palabell

Many thanks for your very positive review and we look forward to your return to the Roseleigh.

We always appreciate feedback and will always respond to make sure we maintain a high level of service and provide for an enjoyable experience when our guests stay with us.

Given the nature of the business we work within - there will be aspects that need maintenance.. Thus we do ask that if these situations present themselves during a guests stay - to please contact us via reception and we will always respond by return. We were not aware that you had any issues with the radiator and shower drainage - as nothing was mentioned.

With regards radiators within the Roseleigh , each radiator has its own control switch - thus these just need to be turned to the desired level of heat required. We do check all our appliances regularly. However sometimes clients may be unaware of this facility with regards the self control switch located at the bottom of each radiator, and thus think that the radiator may not be working, when in effect it just needs the switch turning. As some clients prefer cold rooms as opposed to warm/hot rooms - we felt we would like our guests to have full control - of the temperature in their room. Whilst if you did adjust the switch and nothing happened then all you need to do is contact us and it will be fixed. From our monitoring of the rooms which we daily inspect (both Maggi and I ) we are not aware of any radiators which require attention - but again will be more than happy to resolve if need be.

With regards a slow draining shower - again if this situation happens please just contact us at the time and we will fix immediately.

Our rooms can be viewed on our Virtual Tours featured on our website. As the sun sets in front of the Roseleigh - then these lake view rooms will by nature of their location always have the maximum light exposure in the evening.

As the lake view rooms are the most popular then we always would advise to book early in order to secure these rooms.

Thank you very much again for this feedback as it is important for us to be aware of.

With best regards

Gerard (and Maggi)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton
Roseleigh Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing