We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location for the delightful town of Buxton”
Review of Roseleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roseleigh
Ranked #2 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Buxton and the Peak district has been glorious in the current fine weather.
We have stayed here for many years when visiting the Buxton festival and it is so successful with repeat business that one has to book for next year as one leaves (and pay a deposit)
The situation is ideal, facing the Pavilion gardens and a delightful short walk to the wonderful Matcham Opera House and the town centre
The hospitality from Gerard and Maggi is non-pareil, the breakfasts gargantuan
Highly commended

Room Tip: park view and 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very nice place to be. Roseleigh has a great views across the park and is just a short walk from the center and the restaurants. Very professional staff. Beautitul room. The breakfast is excellent very helpful and good advices for visits in the Peak district. If we come again in Buxton, we'll stay again at Roseleigh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie-Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we have stayed at this b&b 6 times in the last 7 years,it has been a great place for us to stay, until our last stay,on my arrival home i received a call from gerrard to ask me which bed i slept in,i told him one near the window...to which he replied the other bed base was broken,and if we came to stay again i would have to pay an extra £100 deposit to pay for a new base if i was to break it again...as i didn't sleep on the bed i found this very discriminating to fat disabled visitors so if you are over 14 stone don't visit in case the bed breaks even if you don't sleep on it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank barbara4822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseleighHotel, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Barbara4822

With regards to your review and subsequent letter by post. Please find our updated response below.

Both Maggi and I (Gerard) are devastated by your Trip Advisor review and inference -as it is totally misleading and has nothing to do with size or shape of an individual.

We were aware that as a family of four people (you had two rooms booked for the 29/30 November 2013, you had also previously stayed on October 23/24th October 2013) – with your two daughters in one room, and you and your partner in the ground floor room. In the room where you and your partner were staying (in which the bed was broken) all four of you were watching the World Cup Rugby League Match – New Zealand v Australia - on Saturday 30th November shown at 2.30pm on BBC1 and you had specifically advised us that you were all doing so that afternoon.

In 15 years of operation we have never had a situation where a bed-base has been completely "snapped/broken" in half. We, as with any accommodation provider, deal with clients of all shapes and sizes – that is the nature of the business.

The damage was not caused by anyone sleeping on the bed, or by any size factor. We could only conjecture that the only way a bed-base could have incurred this type of damage would be by people jumping up and down on the mattress/bed base - which may have been as a result of watching the match - and celebrating or something to that effect.

There could have been no way that anyone could have slept on that bed without knowing clearly that in effect it was completely broken. It was only when we went into the room to clean it after your departure that we found the damage caused.

Yes we did call you up to ask what may have happened – and to try and find out who would have been sleeping on the broken bed base - however you were unwilling to acknowledge any damage was caused.

We also said that at the time we would not apply any charges, recognising the number of years you had stayed with us and that we had, to our understanding, a very positive relationship with you, your partner and your daughters.

As you have indicated you have been extremely happy to spend several years with us and we treated you and your family with the utmost respect, provided discounted rates for your stay, and responded to every request that was made of us. This alone would seem to counteract your statement, whilst also backed up by your review in our Guest Comments book on your departure, where you wrote –“great as always -– see you again, very soon, have a lovely Christmas, thank you – dated 1st December 2013” We would be more than happy to show your handwritten comments to any Trip Advisor visitors to the Roseleigh.

The cost of the broken bed base was £140 which we had to pay for and replace immediately for incoming guests on the day of your departure. We did not want you to have any financial burden, so we personally paid to have the damages redressed. We are not a large corporate establishment, but a small family run business – and thus this is a real direct cost to us personally.

Thus we also have to make sure such an event does not happen again were you to stay with us. As you were unwilling to acknowledge any damages had been caused we were left with no alternative but to indicate a proviso for any further visits - that in order to protect ourselves from a similar scenario we would ask for a Refundable Deposit which would of course be refunded - upon no further damages being caused on future stays.

We are deeply saddened that you have written such a review - and from our perspective completely unjustified.

Yours sincerely

Gerard and Maggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great b & b, in a wonderful setting overlooking the lake in Buxton. The room was bright and very clean, with a wonderful view and lovely furnishings. Breakfast was a feast, particularly the summer breakfast of toasted granola, poached pears and natural yogurt. Didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the lake, and it was well worth the supplement. We had the best evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClassicNavigators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great views across the park from the top floors, very clean and tidy throughout, friendly welcome upon arrival, excellent food and service at breakfast, short stroll into the wonderful centre of Buxton. Only misses on a "5/5 excellent" due to the noisy plumbing, our toilet cistern (room 14) had a horrid whine / buzz when the ball cock was close to its closed position.

Room Tip: Don't have rooms 14 (noisy loo) or 13 (no windows only skylights)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leg-end57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseleighHotel, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

Many thanks for your very positive review.

We would very much appreciate that if a client finds something they feel needs to be fixed - if they could please mention it to us at the time and we will fix it. During your stay you made no mention of this at any time. Maintenance of any property is always an ongoing situation - but we do react to all requests for assistance.

We do show clearly what all our rooms are like on our Virtual Tours and also mention this at the time of booking if by telephone.

Clients can thus book exactly the room they require by our online booking system - as each room is outlined, and supported by a virtual tour of each room (with the exception of Room 10 - which we illustrate on the slideshow sequence.)

Your reference to Room 13 is actually incorrect as this is a Single Room with a side view window aspect of the Park. The room you were referring to should have specified Room 15. - which is an attic style room with two skylight windows and can be viewed on the Virtual Tour Link on our website.

Yours sincerely

Gerard & Maggi Heelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I arrived on Sunday later than ETA for a one night stay. We were welcomed by Gerard who took time to give us a quick in-depth verbal overview of the local history and politics and some places worth seeing in Buxton. Gerard suggested some eateries (and one to maybe avoid) late on a Sunday night. The premises have been very tastefully refurbished in the Victorian style and our room was spacious, clean and functional with a very nice view of the lake. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and the food was of a high standard.The Waitress/Waiter Service was friendly and efficient. It is very much a family run business. It is very interesting to read a personal summary of the family's formation and its remarkable journey to the present time
The business is well run right from the booking stage to departure and we would definitely like to stay again when next in the Buxton area

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked this guest house for my senior parents and elder sister who wanted a relaxing few days in Buxton. Website was great as it shows pictures of the individual bedrooms and availabity for each. Maggie was helpful and informative in helping us book right up to 10pm at night! My mom is extremely fussy when it comes to accommodation and cleanliness but she couldn't speak highly enough of the high standards at Roseleigh. Both Maggie & Gerard had obviously been fantastic, attentive hosts as my parents both relayed stories and conversations they'd enjoyed with them. The guest house is superbly located for all of Buxton's attractions and has beautiful views over the lake and gardens. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,230 reviews
0 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton
Roseleigh Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing