We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel ”
Review of Roseleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roseleigh
Ranked #2 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Was in Buxton for a friends wedding on Friday and stayed Thursday - Friday. Changed my booking at the last min do my friend could join me - nothing was a problem. We were looked after wonderfully during our stay. Too homely and breakfast lovely. Can't wait to come back !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

arrrived in the pouring rain late thurday evening, Roseleigh was lovely and warm. Was in Buxton for a friends wedding so shared a room with another friend. The owners has been very accommodating as we swapped to a twin room at the last minute, as I had decided to travel up early and stay over. Roseleigh has amazing views over Pavillion Gardens.The house itself has some gorgeous pieces of furniture,all in keeping with the age of the house. The breakfast was very good, locally sourced tasty items, well cooked. the staff we all pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had an amazing romantic weekend away here. Had a lovely view of the lake, restaurants and activities all close by and walking distance. Very welcoming, Clean and lovely rooms. Brilliant service and very helpful, plus breakfast was lovely. Would love to come back in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 and the view was lovely of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cherise145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had another excellent stay at Roseleigh. The rooms are immaculate and extremely comfortable beds. Plenty of choice at breakfast and we can recommend the full english breakfast.
Whilst staying Gerard told us about the guided bus tour of Buxton. He was very helpful and rang the company to see if they could accomodate my elderly mothers wheelchair, which they did. The tour was a real treat, we saw places we would not have found on our own and the tour guide was very informative and entertaining.
My mum who is not very mobile had room 1 on the first floor and we had room 14 which is on the top floor. Both rooms are superb as I would imagine are all the other rooms.
I can definitely recommend staying at Roseleigh and we will certainly be going once more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruth591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent two nights here and we have to say it exceeded expectations. Expected : Old Victorian style B&B showing signs of its age. Found : Superb Victorian Townhouse B&B, well maintained and spotless with nothing left to chance to cater for guests.

After studying a very informative website that tells you absolutely everything you would want to know, we booked online, and after instant confirmation exchanged positive emails within minutes. All good signs of what lied ahead.

LOCATION

What a perfect position. Ought to be called millionaire's row. Overlooks the Pavillion Gardens, the green centrepoint of Buxton. Everywhere else you would want to walk to in Buxton you will find is no more than five minutes away. Parking - well we parked on the road, decided not to bother with the car park. It is a slope off the main road and and as others have commented a little tight. If you are unfamiliar with cars with manual gears you might need good clutch controls to safely exit from the car park's slope. It is adequate albeit we imagine it will be full most weekends. We just decided the parking on the main road was less hassle and you really are less than a minute away from the front door. Never had any problems parking virtually right outside.

ROOMS:

We were greeted by a lady (could have been the owner but never saw her again so didn't find out) who let us in the front door and gave us our room key. Nice welcome from here with a few details of the B&B and locality. We were effectively on the 3rd floor, room 12, our view was to the back of the house and the car park/main road, not the Pavillion Gardens which is really the front. It had everything you'd need though. Nice bed, lovely chairs, shower room with toilet only, as sink was in the room by the window. Plenty of quality complimentary toiletries. Tea, Coffee, Choc making facilties. Hair dryer. Towels were good. In fact everything was top quality, bed linen, towells, soap, even the toilet paper. Flatscreen TV with free to air channels, and a list was provided on a laminate handout. WiFi did not reach our room, but it was not advertised to be available in our room anyway. You can use it in the lounge along with the house's own computer though. Walls were a bit thin, you could hear plumbing when showers in use, though thin walls won't ruin your break here. It is an old Victorian house remember! Finally rooms were kept spotlessly clean, the decorating was bright and appropriate, not a frayed corner or bit of damp or dirt anywhere.

BREAKFAST.

Plenty of Tea choices. Five fruit juice drinks. Similar amount of cereals. Very British orientated but perceived to cater for all tastes where they can. Food was good, just right amount of full english breakfast on the plate. Attentive service never missed clearing a plate or glass. Crockery and Cutlery of definite quality. There was no sign this of B&B cutting cost corners that you sometimes see - eg - very small milk jugs or fruit juice glasses etc. This was quality in every way down to the quiet classical music played through quality speakers.

STAFF

Owner and all of his staff were welcoming, polite, friendly, attentive to our needs and any queries. Could not have asked for more.

EATING OUT.

It's a big part of our vacation, we do use TA a lot for research, so that is a good start point. That said we don't think TA helped us a lot this time. Our use of extensive research has actually been hit and miss. If you are sticking to eating within walking distance it is best to wander around and see what attracts you, you can usually tell by what is busy. Here we ate at the Old Sun Inn which you could walk to and the Duke which is five minutes drive out of town. We did want to try 13 but it was fully booked. Definitely pre-book on a Friday or Saturday is the message here. Of those pubs the Old Sun was the better choice, and the beer was good. Plenty of coffee stops around during the day, though we didn't eat at any, our coffee stop outside the Pavilion was the nicest.

THINGS TO DO

We were here for a relaxing break. Again there is plenty of information on TA. We did walk to Poole's Cavern (about half an hour to walk) and spent an hour there, and walked to the other sites, the Opera House, the Dome, shops, around gardens. On our second day we drove across the snake pass over the peak district and spent a pleasant afternoon in Bakewell. I'd say two days here is more than enough though it depends on what you like to get up to.

OVERALL

Roseleigh is an extremely well run B&B Business. You can tell the owners are well travelled people with experience in the area of travel and hospitality; they know what guests want and deliver it. A really well presented and comfortable place to stay and offering excellent value for money. Well deserving of its four star rating and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to anyone thinking of spending some time in Buxton. Go and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Our higher room was fairly quiet. The hotel website has an excellent page detailing each of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RealGoneKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If only we had more time to explore Buxton and the surrounding area. After watched Michael Portillo’s railway journeys on the BBC, we were impressed with the programs view of Buxton, and as my wife and I had never been there
we decided to go. I found Roseleigh B&B on the internet and booked straight away, what a good choice, it’s the best B&B we have stayed at, our room was excellent, very comfortable and breakfast delicious. The staff were very attentive and helpful,
and the location could not be better, overlooking the park and a short walk to the town centre. We both look forward to staying again and see more of Buxton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Roseleigh Guest House is in a great location on the Broad Walk, overlooking the lake & the Pavilion Gardens.It is easy to walk into the town centre with all its attractions, leaving your car parked at the hotel. Our room (number 8) was on the second floor & was very comfortable & roomy, but a little dark as it's on the side of the house, close to trees. There is a washbasin in the room & although the bathroom is extremely small there is plenty of hot water & a super efficient shower. Be aware though of the plumbing noises from other rooms! There was a good choice at breakfast, which was served by very smartly dressed & polite staff. Roseleigh has free wi-fi for guests, but unfortunately it did not work in our room.I think too I would have appreciated more information in our room about the attractions in the local area & rather less about exotic holidays overseas. However that said, Roseleigh is extremely comfortable & a great place to stay when visiting the Peak district.

Room Tip: Room 8 has an extremely small bathroom, just big enough for a loo & shower & faces over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton
Roseleigh Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing