We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you Lorraine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barms Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barms Farm
Ranked #9 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“thank you Lorraine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lorraine was delightful and made us feel so welcome. She also cooked an AMAZING breakfast which was just divine. A lovely bed and breakfast very handy for Buxton and surrounding villages. We will be back to stay for longer next time. Thank you Lorraine for a lovely break. Penny and Chris

Room Tip: Room number 1 was lovely with en-suite shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princesslea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to submit a review after your one night stay earlier this month. Pleased you rated my breakfasts so highly - I'll thank my chickens, Stanedge Grange Butchery and Charles McLeod for helping me out. Couldn't do it without quality suppliers. Hopefully see you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
168
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was on a mini walking break in Buxton, it's a lovely place with a great room & bathroom which is not far off the same size as the bedroom which was nice as you don't get under each others feet. The breakfast was fantastic, you order what you want the night before & you get the choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt & granola before which is layed out on a separate table.

Despite what another review says about traffic noise I didn't hear it until I looked out the window & saw a car but at night you don't hear a thing.

Lorraine was really friendly & made us feel comfortable the second we walked through the door, she's also really helpful as she knows the area well.

Would definitely recommend & we're booking again for either later on in the year or next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed yourselves during your recent stay with us and that you managed to fit in so many things in only a short time - good pre-planning and helpful if the weather is on side. Hopefully see you and your lovely daughter again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Have just come back from a fabulous 2 night stay. The room was immaculate, as was the whole house and grounds,Lorraine is a perfect host, very welcoming and provides fantastic breakfasts .
Will recommend to others, and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Kind words and most appreciated Brenda. I'm sure you will have been busy with the harvest during this recent bout of wonderful weather - maybe another visit to Barms Farm is what you might benefit from. Regards to your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my Mum in June 2013 and we had a lovely time. It is a modern place, easily accessible from the A6 (but road noise is not a problem) and handy for Buxton which is a couple of miles away. The room was very nice, comfy bed and full of thoughtful touches. The bathroom is modern and well fitted, with a good shower and separate bath. Towels and dressing gowns from The White Company and good quality toiletries. Proper hairdryer too. The guest sitting room gets the sun in the evening and is very comfortable. There is a big choice for breakfast and everything we had was fresh and tasty. I would certainly recommend this place and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherinembland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Lovely to meet both you and so pleased that the wonderful weather held out and enhanced your horse ride experience at Edale - I was most envious of you. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. My very best wishes to your mum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was immaculate. Had everything one needed for a pleasant stay. Super comfy bed and nice size bathroom and television.

Lorraine was super helpful and nothing was too much. Lots of advice about the local area and dinner recommendations.

The location is rather special, overlooking the golf course but yet being only a 20 minute walk to lots of restaurants and pubs. £5 taxi ride home at the end of the night.

Tried to stay a second night but they were fully booked. I can see why.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alocinapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
So pleased that your last minute booking with us was so positively received and sorry that I couldn't oblige you with a second night. If you return for another adrenelin charged day at Alton Towers, please do give me a ring. Can't wait to experience Smiler myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

An impromptu 2 night stay over the bank holiday weekend to get away. Barms Farm is lush!! An immaculate little retreat with great facilities and a lovely homely feel. Lorraine is brill and very attentive, Breakfast was NOMMY!!

Would definitely recommend and go back for more...(not just the breakfast)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
I felt so dissapointed for you both when you arrived early on a wet miserable day hoping to ditch the car and go walking. As soon as the rain stopped and the sun came out the sky went black and down it came again :( You must have been so happy to wake the following day to the most wonderful day which you took full advantage of. Hope you had a great bbq on your return home. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We took a 2 night stay here for our 10th wedding anniversary . It turned out to be the perfect place .We had a lounge to relax in the log fire burning . We stayed in room 2 and it was like having a honeymoon suite . Lovely plush furnishings huge comfy bed fantastic views . The food was top quality with warm welcome service . Nothing was to much trouble . Lorraine is a there to help with anything needed from local knowledge to making sure every thing is as you need.
If you want some where that little bit special ....then this really is the place
Thank you for a wonderful stay .....and the yummy eggs

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia1967herdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks for a lovely review - most appreciated. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed our eggs once back home. Enjoyed having our little chats and hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
1.5 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barms Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barms Farm

Property: Barms Farm
Address: Barms Farm 6 Off A North | Fairfield, Buxton SK17 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse b&b situated one mile north of Buxton. Two well equipped double rooms with five foot wide beds and pristine en-suite facilities both with double ended baths and corner shower cubicle, large guest lounge, dining room and separate guest entrance. Open views over surrounding farmland and golf course. Private illuminated car park within landscaped grounds with pergola and sitting area overlooking large fish pond and the Derbyshire hills. Free wi-fi available. Sorry no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barms Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barms Farm Hotel Buxton
Barms Farm Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing