We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at it's best!”
Review of Barms Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barms Farm
Ranked #6 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful mini break in the Buxton area. Encouraged by the many rave reviews for Barms Farm B and B we booked for 2 nights and were not disappointed!
Location was great and the accomodation was both spotlessly clean and well equipped.
Undoubtedly the star of the show is Lorraine who made us feel totally welcome and provided us with a magnificent breakfast.
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisebk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. Hopefully we will see you both again after the refurb.
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nothing negative to say about this B&B. It is 1st class from the first moment. It is spotlessly clean top to bottom. The setting is quiet (unless you happen to be a city person who is put off by the soft baa-ing of sheep in the distance). We arrived a bit later than we said we would - chalk it up to not being used to the narrow roads yet and a SatNav that kept sending us in circles! - but were still greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome. Our room was large, comfortably furnished, had a large ensuite with plenty of room to put our toiletries. There was a large soaking tub, very large soft towels and a shower with lots of hot water and great water pressure. Our breakfast was perfection. There is a large and comfortable sitting room downstairs for the exclusive use of the guests. I immediately went crazy taking photos of the grounds and discovered the Koi Pond. The sunsets are spectacular and one of the fish took a liking to me and kept throwing me fish kisses!
The only complaint is that we could only stay the one night on our way to York. We plan to remedy that when we return. We will definitely stay here and take advantage of the many amenities the B&B has to offer as well as the attractions of the Peaks District. Thank you for a restful night!

Room Tip: I do not remember which room we had, but in all honesty, I do not think there is a bad one, Just dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Manager at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

WOW!! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. When you return, we will only be offering two double en-suite rooms - both of which are being totally refurbished early 2014 along with 90% of the farmhouse. Room 2 which you recently stayed in will remain along with Room 1 - both will continue to have bath and seperate shower cubicle in each but will be upgraded and repositioned. Hope all your images came out fine. I do remember the spectacular sunset as you arrived - it was fabulous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a lovely welcome to a warm and cozy house from Lorraine. The guest lounge had a log fire blazing away and we had a long chat about restaurants and places to visit. The bedroom was luxurious with quality furnishings, sheets and towels. The breakfasts were delicious each morning with a good variety of fruits, cereals and yoghurts before the main cooked selection. The B&B is situated about a half hours fast walk from the town along a narrow footpath.
We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Lorraine.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a bath and walk in shower and is bright and faces the road - it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_IrelandMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

What a lovely review - many thanks.
If you are this way again you might like to see the major alterations that we are embarking on within the b&b accommodation over the next few months
Thanks once again L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Lovely room in a nice area alongside a golf course just outside Buxton. Lorraine runs things very efficiently and is full of information about the area, restaurants etc. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are big and comfortable. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thanks for going to the trouble to post a review - I am very grateful.
Here's hoping the weather doesn't spoil the remainder of your drivathon. Sounded great fun.
Best wishes to both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Couldn't fault this immaculate B & B - very comfortable room, spotlessly clean and very good breakfasts. This is all very efficiently run by Lorraine who is very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
An enjoyable stay in a lovely area which was all too short and we would certainly return again
To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thanks Penny. Lovely comments and gratefully received. Love to see you both again anytime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had a very nice visit to Barms Farm to celebrate our wedding anniversary. House is very nice. Rooms are absolutely spot on. And Loraines breakfast is just tops. Looking forward to going back one day. Mr & Mrs Y.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Many thanks for your excellent review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your first wedding anniversary at Barms Farm.
Although we are closing shortly for a major refurb - you will be pleased to know that we will be open in time for your 2nd anniversary should you wish to return and try the enhanced facilities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at Barms Farm superb accommodation - very clean, lovely fluffy towels, bedrooms are delightful. Breakfast is all you could want and a great choice. Lorraine is welcoming warm and friendly. We would certainly visit again and recommend to others.

Just Loved It! Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loznad, Owner at Barms Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Lovely when so many people like yourselves return to stay again. It was lovely having you both again recently. The room you stayed in (no.3) will soon be no more as we are doing major refurbishment and will be downsizing the farmhouse b&b to just two double en-suites. We will still be providing 5 star gold accommodation in our self catering property Audreys at Barms Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,206 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#9 of 39 in Buxton
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barms Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barms Farm

Address: | Off A6, Fairfield Common, Buxton SK17 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £91 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse b&b situated one mile north of Buxton. Two well equipped double rooms with five foot wide beds and pristine en-suite facilities both with double ended baths and corner shower cubicle, large guest lounge, dining room and separate guest entrance. Open views over surrounding farmland and golf course. Private illuminated car park within landscaped grounds with pergola and sitting area overlooking large fish pond and the Derbyshire hills. Free wi-fi available. Sorry no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barms Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barms Farm Hotel Buxton
Barms Farm Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing