We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!”
Review of 9 Green Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
9 Green Lane
Ranked #11 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Fab B&B that I wouldn't have found without local recommendation of wedding host - really pleased to have stumbled on this lovely place, can't fault it. Lovely room - cosy, spotless, nicely decorated and furnished, hosts spot on - friendly and attentive but not over bearing being a guest in their lovely house, ace breakfast - all great quality and very well prepared, efficient booking, good parking, great location, great price - highly recommended!

Room Tip: I had single room No 5 and it was just right - could even sleep with the big sash window open and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night at this B & B and have to say it was faultless. The rooms were clean and comfortable and whole house decorated beautifully, internet pictures do not it justice. The breakfast was high quality with good variety of cereals, fruits and homemade jams/marmelades. The hosts were most friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend this accomodation, you will not be dissapointed. We will certainly be going back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kc_8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Clean, warm, comfortable bedroom. Good drinks tray with complimentary Buxton water.
We slept very well and heard nothing during the night, so rooms must be well insulated.
Car Park is to the front of the property so it felt secure.
The breakfast was exceptional. On offer was fresh, ripe and delicious fruit, cereals and yoghurt. The cooked breakfast was one of the best we have had, all of it cooked to perfection. The home made bread and preserves were also excellent, in particular the rhubarb and ginger..
Coffee was fresh and plentiful and we were asked if we wanted more of anything..
Hosts were very helpful, friendly and generous.
The location was just a 10 minute walk from the Opera House which was the reason for our visit to Buxton, which is an amazing victorian town with impressive architecture and warm friendly pubs..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfaithlessfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband recently took me to this B&B for a birthday getaway. I have to say that the service during our stay was excellent. The B&B is in a very central location for a stroll into Buxton, with some lovely local pubs with open fires doing nice food. The breakfast was lovely, just my type of thing, a full english, with good quality cereals, fruit and yogurts. The home made bread and jams avaliable to try where the icing on the cake. With regards to everything else the B&B was warm, clean, and tidy with some nice little touches to make you feel more at home. I will definately be going here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_Nistri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Recently spent 2 nights at this b & b. Excellent value for money. Very clean accomodation and comfortable rooms with good facilities. Was upgraded to a large twin room. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and jams. Bathroom was modern and clean and had a bath and a shower. Very nice selection of toiletries. Well situated, only a 5 minute walk to tne market place. Plently of free parking available. If I had to make a negatvie comment, it would be that the hairdryer could not be plugged in near the mirror, but thats probably just me being a bit picky! Will definately be staying here again when i return to visit friends again in Buxton. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyCant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCot2n, Owner at 9 Green Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. With regard to the hairdryer, there are plug sockets above the dressing table in the twin room, just behind the flatscreen TV. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Very best regards
Rupert and Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend and we can't rave about it enough. We had a huge amount of snow on the Friday when we arrived, so I telephoned in advance to make sure everything was ok, at which point Caroline offered to collect us from the train station!! I thought that was such a sweet gesture. The B&B is beautiful, it's well located and Caroline & Rupert are lovely. We stayed in room 2 which was very warm (our soaking wet shoes and socks dried very quickly) and tastefully decorated (Victorian with modern comforts and a high standard of finish). The breakfasts were stunning, made with clearly the highest quality ingredients (including homemade bread and jams). Some people might find it off-putting to have to select your breakfast items the evening before, but I like that it means nothing goes to waste and it's ready exactly when you want it. Caroline also let us borrow some walking poles for the hike we had planned to do, because of the very thick snow. Rupert was slightly more stand-off-ish than Caroline (he reminded us of Martin Clunes in Doc Martin!) but was nonetheless very helpful and charming. To sum up, we enjoyed a beautiful room, in a beautiful house, run by charming, friendly people!! Can't wait to book again and have passed the recommendation on to friends already!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Very good value guest house, excellent room, great service, free Wi-Fi, cat, jams, full English, Real coffee, single room with en-suite, Safe well lit parking, good size TV in room, will finally deffinatly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenieDeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.5 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Green Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Green Lane

Address: 9 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £71 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Green Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house is a Four Star Silver award winning Bed and Breakfast in Buxton. All rooms are fully en-suite and some rooms are on the ground floor. We are a short walk from Buxton town centre and local restaurants. We have ample free parking for guests in our own private car park, a real bonus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your 9 Green Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Green Lane Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing