We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 Green Lane
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
154
28
1
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
28
1
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadb bvegan breakfastvisiting locallovely housebreakfast was excellentoff road parkingcooked to orderwithin walking distancelittle extrashigh streetfull englishopera housetown centrelovely toiletriesminute strollyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by the owners and shown to your room. I had a single room with private bathroom, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The residence is a lovely old terrace style villa within a short walk to the Market Place or city centre.

A very personal touch is provided with the excellent breakfast and with the hosts Rupert and Caroline attending to all your needs. Wonderful homemade jams from Caroline. Highly recommended and excellent value considering its location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 6 nights in this elegant and spacious house in a very convenient location near to everything wonderful Buxton has to offer. We were warmly greeted and superbly cared for by our hosts, husband and wife team Caroline and Rupert, who think of all the little extras that make a difference. Their breakfasts are simply scrumptious, with locally sourced ingredients, including home-made bread, jams and marmalades. We were in Buxton for an annual convention and are trying to persuade the organisers to return here in future years! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a good size double with walk-in shower and separate toilet
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Deciding between Caroline's homemade dark orange marmalade or her ginger rubarb jam was the greatest challenge to our 2 night stay at 9 Green Lane. It is kept in impeccable condition by Rupert and Caroline and cheerfully so. While in town for the G&S festival which moves to Harrogate next year, I cannot imagine a trip to England without a stop in this Spa town. The golden stone architecture and pavillion at the Opera house overlooking the gardens that would remind Bostonians of the Public Gardens, complete with ducklings is lovely and all walkable from the B&B. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in Room 5 at the end of June 2013. This room was a (typically) very small single room, so not for the claustrophobic. However, the room was clean and comfortable, the single bed was very comfortable, and the bath and shower were nearly brand-new. This B&B is on a very quiet side street, only a short walk from Market Place, where there are numerous buses to various points of interest in Derbyshire. (You can walk to this B&B with luggage from Market Place, but it is much more challenging to walk to the B&B with luggage from the rail station, especially since the first half of your walk is uphill.) The hosts are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. There is excellent WIFI coverage in the rooms. For Americans, this B&B readily accepted VISA (a rarity in UK B&Bs, in my experience). As with most B&Bs, I would recommend rooms on the top level (for noise mitigation). No downsides for me; I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gswVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stay here whenever I go to Buxton. It is ideally situated in a very quiet, leafy road 10 minutes walk from the town centre. It is spotless and beautifully furnished and the rooms well equipped. The breakfasts are excellent and I particularly recommend the varied selection of home cooked preserves. I cannot recommend 9 Green Lane highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueWammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews