We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B Friendly, helpful hosts, faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 9 Green Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
9 Green Lane
Ranked #11 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B Friendly, helpful hosts, faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I booked this accommodation at a very late hour due to problems with another website accommodation. However, I was not disappointed.

Caroline answered the telephone and confirmed that she had had a late cancellation and to my relief was able to accommodate us at very short notice.

An email was sent immediately and directions were given

Upon arrival we were greeted immediately and shown to our room. This was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the location was very central and met our needs.

Breakfast was delicious. Homemade jams/marmalade superb!

Both Rupert and Caroline made every attempt to make sure that our stay was enjoyable and indeed it was. The Heritage Trail was fantastic. Only sorry that we did not stay longer.

Added touches were made in that wine glasses were provided (not asked for) but we had bought a bottle of wine on the Saturday evening and this must have been observed.

Well done Rupert and Caroline. We will definitely recommend you and the lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    24
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
90
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while attending a family reunion and received a very warm welcome.
Our room was well presented and very comfortable and Breakfast was one of the best.
The owners were understanding of our late night return adding to our sense of ease during our stay.Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for one night before attending a conference at the Palace Hotel. A very comfortable B&B with everything supplied that one could need. I arranged to arrive early to deposit my luggage but the room was ready (up graded to a Double en-suite from a Single room at no extra cost - much appreciated). The bathroom was quite small for a 4* B&B and was extremely hot - all of the time. The bathroom ventilator did not switch off with the light as most do, so I had to remember to switch it off separately. The ventilator grill also needed to be cleaned. Everything else however was spotless. The breakfast was well cooked and nicely presented. A variety of homemade jams were available with some unusual flavours but very delicious.

My main criticisim of this B&B was its lack of personality. The corporate style furniture detracted from the homeliness of staying in a traditional B&B and there did not appear to be a guest lounge. Although the owners were very pleasant and informative when asked a question, they lacked a natural warmth of personality which made me feel a little uncomfortable. Despite this I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfaonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Homely but stylish and modern. Smart, clean room, great shower, comfy bed and a superb breakfast, including delicious toasted homemade bread and preserves. The owners were very welcoming. Would definitely come again. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by the owners and shown to your room. I had a single room with private bathroom, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The residence is a lovely old terrace style villa within a short walk to the Market Place or city centre.

A very personal touch is provided with the excellent breakfast and with the hosts Rupert and Caroline attending to all your needs. Wonderful homemade jams from Caroline. Highly recommended and excellent value considering its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 6 nights in this elegant and spacious house in a very convenient location near to everything wonderful Buxton has to offer. We were warmly greeted and superbly cared for by our hosts, husband and wife team Caroline and Rupert, who think of all the little extras that make a difference. Their breakfasts are simply scrumptious, with locally sourced ingredients, including home-made bread, jams and marmalades. We were in Buxton for an annual convention and are trying to persuade the organisers to return here in future years! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a good size double with walk-in shower and separate toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Deciding between Caroline's homemade dark orange marmalade or her ginger rubarb jam was the greatest challenge to our 2 night stay at 9 Green Lane. It is kept in impeccable condition by Rupert and Caroline and cheerfully so. While in town for the G&S festival which moves to Harrogate next year, I cannot imagine a trip to England without a stop in this Spa town. The golden stone architecture and pavillion at the Opera house overlooking the gardens that would remind Bostonians of the Public Gardens, complete with ducklings is lovely and all walkable from the B&B. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 39 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Green Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Green Lane

Property: 9 Green Lane
Address: 9 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Green Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house is a Four Star Silver award winning Bed and Breakfast in Buxton. All rooms are fully en-suite and some rooms are on the ground floor. We are a short walk from Buxton town centre and local restaurants. We have ample free parking for guests in our own private car park, a real bonus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 9 Green Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Green Lane Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing