We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay.”
Review of 9 Green Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
9 Green Lane
Ranked #10 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

This was our third stay with Rupert and Caroline and once again it was a most pleasurable stay. Caroline`s homemade jams, marmalades and bread were delicious.
The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need. We would have no hesitation in recommending the to a friend.
Thank you Rupert and Caroline.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    25
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
92
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We have just had a very pleasant weekend in Buxton staying at 9 Green Lane .This is a very nice clean and very well presented B&B with a quality touch to every aspect of our stay. The room was immaculate and the breakfasts were first class. The hosts are very pleasant, personable and attentive. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gre1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Everything about our stay was impressive, from the room, which was immaculate, to the top notch breakfast, which included home made bread and preserves. I appreciated the nice touches - bottled water, box of tissues, toiletries, free wi-fi etc. We were made very welcome and had a most enjoyable and comfortable stay. I would certainly visit 9 Green Lane again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This B&B is in a Victorian house close to the centre of Buxton. The guest rooms are well appointed - with furniture typical of a reasonable hotel. Ours was one of the smaller doubles but had enough room for us for a weekend and there was a modern bathroom with bath as well as shower and plenty of hot water and good quality towels and toiletries.
Very good breakfasts, cooked and served by the proprietors. Fruit salad, fruit juice, cereals and muesli, various cooked options plus home made bread for toast. We found the proprietors to be helpful and friendly especially when they weren't having to deal with the breakfast rush.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsaMinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I didn't even get to book a room at this hotel for my daughter and her partner as the person I spoke to, which I presume was the owner, was very abrupt and disinterested in my enquiry. I had already previously sent this hotel 2 e-mails to try and book a room but they never responded and when I tried to explain this to him on the phone he had a very 'couldn't care less' attitude which is not the kind of manner you should have when running a business! I can understand now the comments of one of the other guests who did get to stay there when they said they would not return. He seemed to get a little better as the conversation went on and he did give us a number of another place to contact ( but didn't even say what other hotel it was in the area) but first impressions are always important. It has definitely put us off ever bothering to contact this hotel again.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Visited this B&B during Sept 2010 as we had a weddin to go to in Buxton. Came across this B&B while looking on google and decided to book.

Arrived and was greeted, shown to our room. We were shown where everthing was in the room and asked to fill out the breakfast sheet for the following day. Had a good nights sleep and woke up to find everything in the bathroom was working. The breakfast was lovely - espeically the home made bread for toast. Full english breakfast was fantastic too.

The owners were friendly and polite, they asked us about why we had come to Buxton. Stayed 2 nights in the hotel and it was very well worth it. I would reccommend it to everyone. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsbelz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at 9 Green Lane recently. Nice clean B & B, good breakfast, nice sized room unfortunately we seemed to be an inconvenience to Rupert who only spoke when it suited him! For this reason we would not return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayandJay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,735 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Green Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Green Lane

Property: 9 Green Lane
Address: 9 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Green Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house is a Four Star Silver award winning Bed and Breakfast in Buxton. All rooms are fully en-suite and some rooms are on the ground floor. We are a short walk from Buxton town centre and local restaurants. We have ample free parking for guests in our own private car park, a real bonus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your 9 Green Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Green Lane Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing