We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chateau & Wye House Suites
Ranked #36 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I got back from a stay at Wye house yesterday.

The standard of accomodation was exceptionally high and we all (partner and friends) had a great time. We got a free upgrade to a fountain view apartment which was lovely and Dale the host was very accomodating and gave good information about the surrounding areas.

The area is exceptionally pretty and if you have time a trip to Bakewell is a must.
Overall a great place to stay if you want to travel to the peak district.

Room Tip: Ask for a fountain view room within the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

We booked a large family reunion in the Chateau in 2010 ago for this month. We found out a few weeks ago that the business was in trouble but we were assured that our booking would be honoured by Dale. We had our apartments upgraded because of the concern we had about the booking still being kept. We also contacted the administrators who said that company letting out the apartments were doing so without consent of the adminstrators, they did not say it was illegal. However, we decided to keep our booking as there were so many of us and we were assured that the our booking was fine. On arrival we were greeted by Dale and directed to our apartment which was lovely, clean and spacious. During our stay the lawns were being mown and grounds maintained. We were not able to use the Latis Lounge as this has been closed by the administrators. But, the 3 bedroom apartment was so large we were able to fit 29 of us inside the kitchen and lounge and still have space to set up a buffet meal.

The future may be uncertain for the business but as a venue for us it was excellent. Dale was very helpful and honest. We would go back there again as the venue was excellent with all facilities either on site or within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq65034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Had a reservation at The Chateau for my wedding later this year.... find out through a third party that they had gone into administration, tried to contact the event organiser to confirm this but she failed to answer any calls, spoke to another employee who tried to assure me that things were running as normal and my booking would be ok.... Upon talks with the administrators I was told a completely different story and to basically find another venue as what I had heard was true and if they were still trading it was illegal.... Disappointing really as we have still yet to receive apologies from anyone from the company or even an aknowledgement of the current situation! The icing on the cake, they already knew about their current financial difficulty when they took my booking, and i spoke to them only they day before they went into admin......

My advice- do not pay any money to this place and stay well clear!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

In January we booked an apartment in the Chateau for a two day stay at the end of April. E-mail confirmation was not sent nor was the deposit taken. Nonetheless, after a couple of phone calls our booking was confirmed and we spent two very comfortable nights in one of the pent house suites. The suite was very well equipped, very well furnished and everything worked perfectly. However, on arrival we were greeted with a hand written notice, stuck on the door of the main entrance, giving us a number to ring. This was not the welcome we had expected but we rang the number and were directed to our suite and all was well.

Notices on two of the ground floor windows stating that Pigott Law Estates was in Administration had been covered over. Otherwise there was little evidence of the financial difficulties the company was in, although an earlier phone call to the Administrators had elicited the information that legal action was being taken against the company as some of the suites were still being let, including the one we stayed in, even though the company had ceased trading.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestbankSouthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

On the morning we went found they were having financial problems. However, no effect on us.

Reception was amusing, one bloke in the hallway with a computer. The system wouldn't accept my card (it was OK) so I paid cash the following day. We were upgraded to two bedrooms for our trouble.

It had one large bedroom, big bed and good size TV on wall.

Second bedroom was a double, but smaller.

Bathroom was very nice. Good shower and whirlpool bath.

Living room big enough, very large plasma and two settee's

Kitchen/diner biggest room, table and all the equipment you'd want.

Only downside is the 5 to 10 minute walk back from town is mostly up bank and wouldn't suit everyone.

Give it a go.

PS - We were in the Chateau

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knaps65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

As the previous comment states - very disappointing as we have just found out this morning - 4 days before our proposed stay - that Pigott Estates Ltd have gone into administration and our booking has been cancelled. Virtusor Corporation have taken over - so other peoples bookings are able to go ahead, but because I booked in January - I'm unlucky.

What gets me more than anything is that I called 2 weeks ago and no one said a word! Thanks for notice guys - NOT!

Very upsetting really - Happy Easter uh!

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Chisliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Unfortunately we are only able to review the service from this establishment, which in our experience had been abysmal, as we havent actually been able to stay there. We had booked a large number of rooms for our wedding in 6 weeks time - we have today found out through a third party that the business has gone into administration. Having contacted them, they gave assurances that a new management company have taken over the running of the property and that our booking still stood. On checking with the adminstrators we were told that they are trading illegally as a new company. We now have to find somewhere new to stay with 6 weeks to go as we cannot take the chance that we wont have anywhere to stay! If you have made a booking with this company I would urge you to contact the administrators immediately.

Stayed: April 2011
1  Thank hoolahoops81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChateau-WyeHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Chateau & Wye House Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2011

Thank you for your review however the situation is not quite as you have described,

YES - Pigott Law Estates Limited the land owners have been placed into Administration by Yorkshire Bank who have appointed Begbies Traynor as administrators.

However the property is now being run by Virtusor Corporation

We have spoken to the Groom who in the circumstances has decided to book elsewhere. The reservations were not cancelled by The Chateau & Wye House Suites and would not have been.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#34 of 39 in Buxton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau & Wye House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau & Wye House Suites

Address: Wye House Corbar Road, Buxton SK17 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £100 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chateau & Wye House Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau is a Bespoke & Truly Unique Peak District Hotel.The Peak Districts leading accommodation, based in Buxton. 1,2 & 3 Bedroom serviced apartments which are chic and stylish, innovative and obliging with 5 star facilities. The ultimate in luxurious accommodation which you will find almost impossible to rival. Available for Individual and group bookings for the ultimate party, wedding or special celebration. Stunning Private Country Estates Location in 5.5 acres of private woodland.Free ParkingFree Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chateau & Wye House Hotel Buxton
The Chateau And Wye House Suites
The Chateau Wye Hotel
Chateau Wye Buxton
The Chateau & Wye House Suites Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing