We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge 3 apartment suite for a unbelievable low price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chateau & Wye House Suites
Ranked #36 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 November 2011

3 apartment suite with fully equipped kitchen, 2 bed rooms and a big living room. The Chateau itself is an office building, the suites are on the right hand. Friendly welcome and free internet

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in a Wye House suite. On arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite.
Once we were in, it almost felt like this was our own little luxury apartment!!

Twin room was massive, with lots of storage space. Living room was fantastically equipped with flat screen tv, dvd player, sky tv, massive comfy sofa!! Free Wi-fi!
Kitchen was well equipped with everything you need. Bathroom was massive with a very nice spa bath!

The only thing i would criticise was lack of service. They would clean your rooms every 2 days......in between that we found it very difficult to locate someone to advise us of where the local storage of toilet rolls/hoover/etc was......

Other than that..........i would still definitely recommend!! Gorgeous Chateau!

Room Tip: Only rooms at the front of the chateau have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uma z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

As the other reviews state, they have gone into administration. Avoid like the plague.

We paid £2460 deposit for all 19 apartments for our wedding this Nov. We were told in May they could only offer 12 apartments, now 8. The adminstrators have advised us they will not be trading by November and to make other arrangements.

We have been told that Pigott law is the same people as Virtuso, just tradfing under a different name. I would imagine this is illegal, given that they have taken deposit money from several couples getting married, knowing they were already in trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vuhihvuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here however apartment & hallways in need of painting, combi boiler won't cope with flow of water & need to run tap slowly to heat, Jacuzzi bath only gave out small amount of bubbles consistent with flatulence in bath !, have the creakiest floorboards ever (no joke) that wakes whole family up, WiFi, restaurant and bar not available

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelius_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We had the 2 bedroom Fountain View suite - and what a fantastic suite! The decor from the state of the art bathroom to fantastic sized kitchen...I wish I could afford to buy a flat like this and decorate it in such a trendy tasteful fashion!

Central location, walking distance to Buxton and driving distance to any walks and peak district attractions such as Chatsworth House and Bakewell.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithykls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I got back from a stay at Wye house yesterday.

The standard of accomodation was exceptionally high and we all (partner and friends) had a great time. We got a free upgrade to a fountain view apartment which was lovely and Dale the host was very accomodating and gave good information about the surrounding areas.

The area is exceptionally pretty and if you have time a trip to Bakewell is a must.
Overall a great place to stay if you want to travel to the peak district.

Room Tip: Ask for a fountain view room within the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We booked a large family reunion in the Chateau in 2010 ago for this month. We found out a few weeks ago that the business was in trouble but we were assured that our booking would be honoured by Dale. We had our apartments upgraded because of the concern we had about the booking still being kept. We also contacted the administrators who said that company letting out the apartments were doing so without consent of the adminstrators, they did not say it was illegal. However, we decided to keep our booking as there were so many of us and we were assured that the our booking was fine. On arrival we were greeted by Dale and directed to our apartment which was lovely, clean and spacious. During our stay the lawns were being mown and grounds maintained. We were not able to use the Latis Lounge as this has been closed by the administrators. But, the 3 bedroom apartment was so large we were able to fit 29 of us inside the kitchen and lounge and still have space to set up a buffet meal.

The future may be uncertain for the business but as a venue for us it was excellent. Dale was very helpful and honest. We would go back there again as the venue was excellent with all facilities either on site or within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq65034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau & Wye House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau & Wye House Suites

Address: Wye House Corbar Road, Buxton SK17 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £100 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chateau & Wye House Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau is a Bespoke & Truly Unique Peak District Hotel.The Peak Districts leading accommodation, based in Buxton. 1,2 & 3 Bedroom serviced apartments which are chic and stylish, innovative and obliging with 5 star facilities. The ultimate in luxurious accommodation which you will find almost impossible to rival. Available for Individual and group bookings for the ultimate party, wedding or special celebration. Stunning Private Country Estates Location in 5.5 acres of private woodland.Free ParkingFree Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chateau & Wye House Hotel Buxton
The Chateau And Wye House Suites
The Chateau Wye Hotel
Chateau Wye Buxton
The Chateau & Wye House Suites Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing